Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels

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Chapter 9 Marketing communications using digital media channels. Learning objectives. Distinguish between the different types of digital media channels Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of each digital media channel for marketing communications - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

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Slide 9.1

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Chapter 9

Marketing communicationsusing digital media channels

Slide 9.2

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Learning objectives

• Distinguish between the different types of digital media channels

• Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of each digital media channel for marketing communications

• Assess the suitability of different types of digital media for different purposes

Slide 9.3

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Questions for marketers

• Which digital communications media should we select for different types of campaign?

• Which are the success factors which will make our campaigns more effective?

Slide 9.4

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a websiteSource: Smart Insights, 2011a

Slide 9.5

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.2 Percentage who consider different information sources as important when researching or purchasing a product or serviceSource: Nielsen (2011)

Slide 9.6

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.3 Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating the natural and paid listingsSource: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.

Slide 9.7

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.4 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search resultsSource: Optify (2011)

Slide 9.8

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on?

• On page optimisation:– <title> tag = 4.9/5

– Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5

– Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8

– Keyword in document name = 2.8

– Meta name description = 2/5

– Meta name keywords = 1/5

• Off-page optimisation:– More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5

– Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5

– Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5

– Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5

– Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5

– Social media signals (newer ranking signal)

See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors

Slide 9.9

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Which factors affect returns from paid search?

• Distribution of daily budget

• Amount bid (Max CPC).

• Clickthrough rate

• Creative quality including creative testing

• Campaign structure

• Match types especially negative matches

• Use of content network

• Time-of-day (day parting)

• Landing page quality

• Click fraud!

• * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score especially important

Slide 9.10

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Online PR

• What it?– ‘the management of reputation - the planned and

sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill and mutual understanding between an organisation and its publics”

The UK Institute of PR (IPR)

– ‘the managed process of communication between one group and another … (it) is the method of defining messages and communicating them to target audiences in order to influence a desired response’. Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)

Slide 9.11

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

1. A

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visito

rs th

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sear

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3. Building

Campaign

Buzz

2. Engagement

& Dialogue

4. D

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OnlinePR

E-PR activitieso Surveys and pollso Audience research:o Social media inc

user-generated contento Own blogo Influencing media owners

E-PR activitieso Inbound link-buildingo Content creationo Blogso Feeds (RSS)o Press releaseso Influencing media

owners

E-PR activitieso Brand protectiono Monitoring

and response:o Social mediao Influencing media

owners

E-PR activitieso Propagating

‘big idea’o Web editorial

contactso Viral agentso Seeding viralo Press releaseso Influencing media

owners

The key areas of online PR

Slide 9.12

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.5 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchaseSource: Performics (2010)

Slide 9.13

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural listings

Slide 9.14

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.7 Gatorade social media command centre video

Slide 9.15

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.8 Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available from within a category of ‘social media marketing’

Slide 9.16

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.9 Popularity of social sharing services in France, Germany and the United KingdomSource: http://www.addthis.com/services/compare-countries, accessed October 2011

Slide 9.17

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.10 The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)

Slide 9.18

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.11 Distribution of length of time against purchaseSource: Prussakov (2011b)

Slide 9.19

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.12 Behavioural ad targeting process

Slide 9.20

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.13 Banner blog (www.bannerblog.com.au) ad review site

Slide 9.21

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.14 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to salesSource: ecircle (2011)

Slide 9.22

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.15 E-mail response measuresSource: GSI (2011) Whitepaper

Slide 9.23

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.16 E-mail service provider (www.emailreation.com)Source: SmartFOCUS DIGITAL

Slide 9.24

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Figure 9.17 Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet searches, June 05–March 06Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006

Slide 9.25

Chaffey et al., Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 5th edition © Pearson Education Limited 2013

Table 9.4 Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications tools for promoting an online presence