Post on 17-Jul-2015
transcript
Search and Your Marketing Mix
First Off... Who Am I?
Co-author: The Art of SEO President: Stone Temple Consulting
25+ person SEO and PPC firm Trainer: Instant E-Training Founder: Web Site Publishing Companies
Publish web sites, grow them, then sell them2 significant exits so far
Twitter: @stonetemple Google Plus: +Eric Enge
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Part 1
Marketing Media
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Influence of Media on Decisions
Source: Fleishman-Hilliard
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Selected Data on Media Consumption
Source: Fleishman-Hilliard
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TV / Print / Radio
About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Long established Cost / ROI Models
Comfortable for traditional marketers
Immediate action is not an option
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Example Display Ad
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Online Display Advertising
About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Emerging Cost / ROI Models
Comfortable for traditional marketers Similar return model to TV/Print/Radio
Immediate action is an option But, “Interruption Mode”
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Classic Marketing Rule of Thumb
7 impressions per sale
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And What About Search?
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Are You In Control of the Message?
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Do You Interrupt The User?
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No, The User Must Do 3 Things
11 12 13
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Search Step 1 – Go to a Search Engine
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Search Step 2 – Enter a Query
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Search Step 3 – Click on a Result
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Where is Search in the Conversion Funnel?
SearchInvolvedAt EveryStage
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Marketing Campaigns
Awareness
Interest
Evaluation
Commitment
Referral
Repeat
Search Always Starts With a Need
• I need:– Information– A product– A service– To be entertained
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Push vs. Pull
MY BENEFITS!
MY NEED!
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Harvesting Demand
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TV, Print, Radio
TraditionalOutlets
HarvestDemand
Create Demand
Generic Demand
Internet
DiaperDry baby
Crying babyI need sleep
Why Are Facebook Shares Down?
$38.00
$19.00
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Facebook Continued
But Facebook offers all this amazing targeting, right?
Yes, but it is a display ad network It is interruption based advertising
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Ads on my Wall
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Part 2
SEO vs PPC
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Natural vs. Paid
25
NaturalNatural PaidPaid
PaidPaid
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PPC and SEO are Synergistic
Source: Brad Geddes on Search Engine Land
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Observation
73% of clicks went to SEO One high volume keyword was used Similar data obtained in other tests
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Paid Vs. Organic Click Volume
22%PPC
78%Organic
2010 DataPPC ShareGrowingOver Time
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Paid vs. Organic Click Volume
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Keywords yourank for in
Organic Search
KeywordsYou Bid on75%
Of clicks
25%Of clicks
100%Of clicks
All Relevant Keywords
Organic Ranking
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KeywordResearch
CreatePages
Black BoxAlgo
Rank for terms as
determined by Algo
Paid Ranking
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KeywordResearch
AdWordsAccount
Rank for terms largely defined
by you
HistoricalCTR
+Keyword &
Landing Page Relevance
+Landing Page
Relevance+
Other
Quality Score
Max Bid
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Part 3
Justifying SEO
SEO Ranking Timeline
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Create a new page
Black BoxAlgo
6moslater
Maybe rankFor something
• Classic SEO Sales Pitch
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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet
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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet
2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits
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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet
2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits
3.I don’t know how large the benefits will be
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Sign here, $10,000 a month!
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Google AdWords Keyword Tool
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Bing Webmaster Tools
Real Numbersfor searchesat Bing.com!
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Wordtracker
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Coming Up with a Total
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Calculating Search Potential
(Data fromAhrefs.com)
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Do The Math!
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Alternate Method
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Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table
• Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products & services that you offer?
# of people searching for your keywords x
engine share (Google = 70%) x
expected click-through rate
average conversion rate
average transaction amountx x
E.g.10,000/day x 70% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,500/day
47
searchengineland.com/selling-the-benefits-of-seo-in-a-large-enterprise-36189
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Show Competitors Winning
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Part 4
Justifying Paid Search
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Setup An Account Today and …
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Get Traffic Today
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Margin in Competitive DR Markets
Have to combat this with active optimizationSet it and forget it does not work
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Calculating ROI
Expense Happens TodayRevenue May Happen Over Time
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Thank You!
Eric Enge
eenge@stonetemple.com
@stonetemple
+ Eric Enge
(508) 485-7751
www.stonetemple.com