Date post: | 15-May-2015 |
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Archicamp
“A software platform for monitoring manufacturing machinery” (Original Idea)to
“A platform to enable collaboration between architects, designers, and engineers” (Current Idea)
Our Team
Ryan Jung, MBA
Alex Bergin, M. Arch. (Advisor)
Guillaume Miara,M.Eng.
Anirudh Subbarao,M.Eng.
3D Prints Express TimelineDigital Manufacturing
ID Link 3D Prints Express
4-sided mktplc
2-sided mktplc for modeling
Architects Workflow
Pain Points
Collaboration Ambiguity
Wireframe
Design Groups & Thought Leaders
Tech Adoption LH Side of Canvas
Cost Structure
Rev Model
Willingness to Pay
Income Statement
BUSINESS CANVAS
Modeling Marketplace, Market SizeCalculation of $10 per hour margin:Estimated Cost to Firm:
$3,500 annual seat license for AutoCAD$4,000 per workstation (HP Z820 workstation; 2 year depreciation)Average salary of $60,00020% general and administrative costsTOTAL ANNUAL COST: $78,600Divided by 2000 hours per yearTOTAL HOURLY COST: $40 per hour
Average Hourly Rate of Freelance CAD Drafter:
$30 per hourSource: Average of 5 interviews + 20 postings on oDesk / Craigslist
1$5 billion
2$3.5 billion
3$500 million
1 250,000 CAD drafters * 50 weeks * 40 hours * $10 per hour 2 70% of revenues from architecture / manufacturing 3 15% of part 2
Programming
Concept
Schematic
Design Development
Instruction Documentation
Construction
Tools People Pain
Google SketchUpRhinocerosRevit
1 Sr. Architect2 Jr. Architects~1 Engineer
Converting sketch into 3D model
Process Flow
Sources: Perkins & Will, H.O.K. ~ 1500 employees
NavisWorksRevit
2 - 3 Sr. Architect2 - 6 Jr. Architects2 - 3 Engineers
Integrating models from each team (Arch, Eng, Dsgn)
Revit 2 - 3 Sr. Architect3 - 8 Jr. Architects3 - 4 Engineers
Labor intensive to add all specs
3D Modeling Outsourcing Platform
"You can't export work Jr. Architects do. That's what makes them architects!"
- Susan Ubbelohde, Architect, Consultant, Professor
Google Doc Like Collaboration
Architect
CAD talent
*Didn’t like it – Deleted Real time!
*Approved design! Expedited!
TypicallyConflict!
*improved design
-avoid multiple versions-avoid overwriting each other
Existing Products
SaaS 3D modeling platform• Store and access files on the
cloud• Multi-party and remote
collaboration• Documentation of
collaboration process• Secure infrastructure
Universal file support• 3D model viewing,
measuring, sectioning• File sharing and sync• Documentation of
collaboration process• Communication tools• Remote collaboration
Neither of these has been mentioned in our 50+ interviews with architects!!
What We Did
• Went to UC Berkeley School of Architecture to recreate the problem– In process, we recruited
our domain expert
• Built a landing page and used web tests to validate the value proposition– Team needed to build
something even if they weren’t 100% sure what they were building
Thought Leaders
Mario Guttman
Developer of arch+tech products
Leading BIM Expert
30+ years architect exp.(Partner P+W)
Eric Freed
“World’s best green architect”
Syndicated in 33 industry magazines
Speaks at 40+ conferences/yr
Phil Read
“THE Revit Guru”
Industry Blogger/Author
Global product manager AutoDesk
Federico Negro
Partner, Case Design
Blogger/Writer
Prof. Architecture Columbia
Jim Balding
ANT Group
Architecture Conference Organizer
Prominent Consultant
Technology Adoption
Techie ArchitectsDomain BloggersThought LeadersBIM ManagersSr. Architects
Design Groups Consultants
Small Architecture Firm B
Small Architecture Firm C
Small Architecture Firm A
AmericanInstituteArchitects
Acquire Activate Keep Grow
Contractors
Engineering Firms
Collaborative Platform
Partner Diagram
3D PE
Consultants
Customer
ProductTransactionData
StorageCosts
Subscription based on storage
Revit Store
Sales
Product Recs.
Conversion Funnel
From Twitter, Blogs of Thought Leaders: 10,000
View Landing Page
Sign up for Free Trial
Become Paying Customers
Observed Conversion
Rates with Lo-Fi MVP
Target Conversion
Rates
17.5% 40%
6.5% 20%
Not tested yet 20%
160 paying customer firms
CAC & LTV
Customer Acquisition CostCAC = Cost of Marketing / # Customer firms= $60,000 / 160= $375 / firm= Gross Margin / firm* 3 months
Lifetime ValueLTV = Expected Life *Avg GM / Cust. Firm= 24 months * ($200 - $70) / ($200 / month)= $3,120 / customer firm= CAC * 8
Metrics that Matter
Metric Target Value
Total Reach10,000 (initial)
Conversion to Landing Page40%
Conversion to Sign Up20%
Conversion to Paid20%
Willingness to Pay$200
Gross Margin65% (determined by WTP)
CAC$375
LTV$3,120
Retention Rate80%
Breakeven Users420 (depends on WTP)
Is this a viable business?
Quantitative reasons Qualitative reasons
Large Addressable market $400+ million
Low Breakeven 420 paying customers out of 60,000 architecture firms in US
CAC quickly covered 1 project
High margin LTV ~ 8*CAC
Positive Initial feedback from thought leaders in industry
Opportunities in adjacent marketsStructural engineering and design
Possible product extension opportunities
Will we pursue this after the class?
• Need a High Fidelity MVP to test: Reach into target market of TLs through Twitter/ blogs Conversion rates Willingness to pay
• None of us have technical skills to build the Hi Fi MVP SolutionSet offers to do it for $90,000
• At this point we have decided not to continue with this business
Thank You
To the Teaching Team, Mentors, and other teams!
APPENDIX
Final Market SizingTrends supporting collaboration
1. Pressure to be cost competitive to compete for tenders
• 59.2% of revenues are spent on wages• ~10.0% of revenues is spent on equipment and software• Firms are searching for ways to balance workloads, reduce
labor costs, and speed up production of projects
2. Increased use of technology• Increasingly complex designs are requiring architects to
use advanced 3D modeling technologies
3. Demand for more value-added services• To combat declining margins, architectural firms are
adding services such as pre-design planning, interior design, and engineering to become vertically integrated
4. Growing demand for environmentally friendly design
5. Growing trend towards outsourcing by firms• 11% of firms have outsourced labor.• Trend is more pronounced for firms with revenues >$5m
6. Low concentration in architecture industry• 63% of firms in industry have less than 5 employees• 4 largest firms account for less than 5% of total industry
revenues
7. High unemployment of licensed architects• Per AIA, 105,596 licensed architects in US• Per BLS, 71,460 architectural jobs in US; mean salary of
$79k
1$7 billion
2$2.1 billion
3$420 million
1 $9.8 billion Design Software industry (IBIS World) x 70% revenues for AEC/CAD/Industrial Design
2 105k licensed architects in US per AIA, 500k construction mgmt, 262k civil engineers per BLS
3 20% of part 2
Breakeven AnalysisAssumptions• Willingness to pay is subject to further testing to assess demand curve.• We sensitized our breakeven analysis at various price points and used our
40% / 20% / 20% conversion rate targets to get an idea of the necessary size for the “top of the funnel”
• Total licensed architects in US = 105,596 per American Institute of Architects
Price Paying Customers Top of Funnel
$200 420 26,250
$175 515 32,188
$150 680 42,500
$120 1,090 68,125
$100 1,800 112,500
Finance and Operations Timeline
Fundraise Hi-Fi MVP Test Beta Test Final Development
Operational
6 weeks 8 weeks 2 weeks 8 weeks 2 weeks 26 weeks
$250k
-$90k
-$30k
-$30k
$150k
Cash
Burn Rate
• At pricing of $200, breakeven users is 420.– We are assuming conversion rates of 40% / 20% / 20%
which will be tested during Hi-Fi MVP and Beta stages.– For now, these conversion rates are hypotheses.
• At these conversion rates, we believe we can get this number of paying users in 3 months.– This takes into account our initial conversion funnel– Assumes a retention rate of 80%.
• Our estimated monthly OpEx is $25,000 and gross margins are 65%.
• Net cash burn is estimated at $10,000 through first three months until breakeven.
Digital Manufacturing, Inc.
1- Fortune 1000
2- Medium Manufacturing Enterprises
3- Small Manufacturing Enterprises
4-Small Job Shops
-Develop a tailored solution
for each customer: coding, improving
UI, developing knowledge base
-Reduce downtime of machinery;
manufacturing cost savings & service
cost savings.
-Knowledge base; prognostics (big
data) for real-time monitoring and
signaling preventive
maintenance.
Who are our Key Partners?
Who are our key suppliers?
-IP development
-Webservices
-Sales & Marketing
For what value are our customers really willing to pay? How do we make money?
Through which Channels do our
Customer Segments want to be reached?
-IP, Software Platform: Opentok
-Cloud based server
-Knowledge base
1
3
4 2-Facilitator between
customer and service persons
to implement app
5
6
7
89
We create value to every person
who has forgotten an important
paper/ does not want to carry it
Initial customers are people
entering a bar, who have
forgotten their ID or don’t want to bring it along.
Software development,
product promotion, and ID
verification.
We will provide a service for identity and info verification
via electronic means (i.e. mobile
phones).
We help everyone who desperately
need a paper (Passport forgotten for an international flight, driver license for police control,
ID card forgotten to get into a bar, etc.)
First, we will start with the bars and clubs in the Bay
area, until we reach state and
federal governments.
No suppliers.
Product development, marketing, investment in machine/software for ID
verification.
People using the “verification” service pay per use until a threshold for transfer to a
subscription plan
Through an App store, site, and via
the person who requires the ID
(police, bouncer…)
Experts in data security, lawyers, security/encryption companies, ID
verifiers.
1
3
4 2A relation of trust,
from a service that works at all
times and is highly secured.
5
6
7
89
BUSINESS CANVAS
Business Canvas Week 4
Canvas Week 5
Canvas Week 6
Canvas Week 7
Canvas Week 8
Canvas Week 9
Final Canvas Week 10