© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
Sales Overview (Internal)
Geoffrey King | Sales Engineer, NASeptember 17th 2010
Analytics v4
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
▸ Mission statement
▸ Conversion enhancements
▸ Performance by frequency
▸ Visibility metrics
▸ Unique enhancements
▸ Smart versioning reporting
▸ Miscellaneous
Agenda
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
Mission statement
▸ A more powerful and advanced analytics tool
▸ MediaMind platform look and feel for better user experience
▸ New metrics to improve MediaMind’s data-oriented offering
▸ Enhanced capabilities for analysing creative performance
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ConversionsIncreased Capabilities
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Conversion data settings
▸ Cookie window enhancements
▸ Introduction of conversion attribution models
▸ Increased path length
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Cookie window: the predefined number of days where a users actions (impressions and clicks) are considered before a conversion.“
”
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Cookie window example
Ad: CAction: Click
Ad: AAction: Click
Ad: BAction: Click
Ad: CAction: Impression
Click WindowImpression Window
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Click WindowImpression Window
Example Imp Window Click Window Conversion Path1 10 30 Ad: C, B, A, C
2 5 20 Ad: B
3 5 15 Ad: none
Click WindowImpression Window
Conversion
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Cookie window enhancements
▸ Previously: you could only set one window per account and you had to use predefined periods
all advertisers in the account needed to use the same window
▸ Analytics v4: you can apply individual rules per advertiser and set any number of days: 1 - 90
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Conversion attribution: the method and business rules that govern how conversions are awarded“
”
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Conversion attribution enhancements
▸ Previously: conversion attributed to the last event in the path (imp or click) in standard reports
Note: as long as the event was within the defined cookie window
Ad: CAction: Click
Ad: AAction: Click
Ad: BAction: Click
Ad: CAction: Impression
Click WindowImpression Window
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Conversion
Received 100% of the conversion
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Conversion attribution enhancements
▸ Analytics v4: you can now select between three conversion attribution rules:1. Last event - the current conversion rule2. Click over impression - new3. Last click, disregard impressions - new
▸ Each rule can be applied to a particular advertiser
▸ Note: the cookie window also apply
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Click over impression
▸ Definition: attributes the conversion to the last click in the path. If no clicks occurred, the conversion is attributed to the last impression
Ad: CAction: Click
Ad: AAction: Click
Ad: BAction: Click
Ad: CAction: Impression
Click WindowImpression Window
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Conversion
The previous impression is ignored
for the clicked ad in the path
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Last click, disregard impressions
▸ Definition: attributes the conversion to the last click in the path. If no clicks occurred, no conversion is counted.
Ad: CAction: Click
Ad: AAction: Click
Ad: BAction: Click
Ad: CAction: Impression
Click WindowImpression Window
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Conversion
The previous impression is totally disregarded. Only clicks are included in the
path
Ad: CAction: Impression
Ad: BAction: Impression
Ad: CAction: Impression
Click WindowImpression Window
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Conversion
No clicks in the path so no conversion is recorded
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Test multiple cookie windows and attributions
▸ Analytics v4: set up to 6 different cookie windows and conversion attribution combinations
▸ Select the required rule when running the report and analyse immediately
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Path length: how many events (impressions) are tracked in the users path to conversion“
”
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Path length
▸ Previously: only the last 5 events were stored
▸ Analytics v4: track up to 100 events:10 events: provided for free (industry standard)11 – 100 events: at a cost
Previously (last 5 events)
Analytics v4 (up to 100)
Imp 9
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
ConversionImp 10Imp 8Imp 7Imp 6Imp 5Imp 4Imp 1 Imp 2 Imp 3
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Path length reporting
▸ When creating the report, select a path lengthMaximum of 50 events can be included in this report
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How can we use this?
▸ Provide more extensive analyse
▸ Track as many events as necessary and learn how your audience interact with your brand
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Side note on analytics: cookie windows
▸ A study by Mediacom in the US
▸ Cookie window is determined by identifying the point where response rate of test group (exposed) converges statistically with that of control group (non exposed).
0.000%
0.010%
0.020%
0.030%
0.040%
0.050%
0.060%
0.070%
0.080%
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Latency Window (Day)
Cum
ulat
ive
Con
vers
ion
Rat
e %
Test Control
Response Rates between test group and control group
converges at latency Day 12
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Increased frequency analysis capabilities
Performance by Frequency
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Performance by frequency enhancements
▸ New metrics
▸ Advertiser level control of conversion settings
▸ New frequency buckets
▸ Inclusion of dwell rate
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New frequency metrics
▸ Unique at frequency level:The number of unique users who reached the indicated frequency of viewed impressions
▸ Total impressions to frequency: The sum of impressions viewed up to the indicated frequency
▸ Total conversions to frequency: The sum of conversions recorded up to the indicated frequency for all users
▸ Conversion rate to frequency: The percent of ‘Total Conversions to Frequency’ out of ‘Total Impressions to Frequency’
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
New frequency metricsFrequency Uniques at
frequencyTotal impressions
for frequencyTotal conversions
for frequencyConversion rate for
frequency
1 2 6 1 1/6 = 16.67%
2 1 10 2 2/10 = 20%
3 3 13 4 4/13 = 30.7%
Totals 6 13 4
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Advertiser level control of conversion settings
▸ Control the cookie window and conversion attribution model governing conversions
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New frequency buckets
▸ Previously: we only tracked frequencies 1–5, all additional frequencies went into the group ‘6+’
▸ Analytics v4: we track frequencies 1,2,3...30, 31-40, 41-50, 51-60, 61-70, 71-100 and 100+
Previously Analytics v4
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Inclusion of dwell rate
▸ The Dwell Rate metric has been added
▸ View optimal frequency for dwell rate, and accordingly defines the frequency strategy
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How can we use this?
▸ Learn frequency levels and impressions volumes required to hit desired reach
▸ Analyse the impact of repeat exposures:Direct response: Conversion Rates, CTRUser engagement: Dwell Rate and Average Dwell Time
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How can I be sure somebody saw my ads?
Visibility Metrics
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Visible impressions: the number of impressions that were served and viewed by users“
”
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The problems
▸ Ads may be placed so far down a page that they never appear on the screen
Increasing number of performance buys
▸ The user bandwidth may be slow and they have scrolled away from the ad before it was displayed
▸ How can I benchmark placements in worse locations on the page against more premium to determine ROI?
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The solution
▸ Analytics v4: release of visible impression metric
▸ Only counts if ad is viewable for 1+ seconds728x90
300x250
Above the fold
Belowthe fold
User browser screen (current viewed area)
Unit Size Impression Visible
728x90 1 Yes
300x250 1 No
On page load
Unit Size Impression Visible
728x90 1 Yes
300x250 1 Yes
After user scrolled
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New visibility metrics
▸ Visible impressions:Number of impressions served that were displayed on screen
▸ Visible impressions rate:The percent of impressions viewed out of the measured impressions for visibility evaluation proposes
▸ Recorded impressions rate:The percent of impressions successfully* recorded for visibility evaluation purposes out of served impressions
▸ Note: this metric is provided at a cost $$$* In some cases it is not possible to know whether ads were visible or not. For example, when serving ads to IFRAMES.
Until June 1, 2011$2,250 per advertiser for
three months of unlimited use.
Until January 1, 2011$7,500 per advertiser for
twelve months of unlimited use.
Starting August 22nd 2011An additional $0.02 CPM.
In all cases the first month is free.
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
Visibility reporting
▸ Available in: Analytics reports: Delivery Summary, Campaign SummaryAnalytics tools: Custom Report Builder
Number of recorded impressions = 500,000
Visible impression rate = 100,000/500,000
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How can we use this?
▸ Understand quickly how often your ads are seen on sites, influence future buys
▸ Understand how this impacts ROI, does paying for below the fold impression give better ROI?
SMH Hom
epag
e
Run of
Mas
thead
s
Money
Woman
's Day
Homep
age
Homep
age-2.00%
0.00%
2.00%
4.00%
6.00%
8.00%
10.00%
12.00%
14.00%
16.00%
18.00%
0.00%
20.00%
40.00%
60.00%
80.00%
100.00%
120.00% Visible Impressions Rate
Dwell Rate
CTR
Interaction Rate
Conversion Rate
Placement
Visi
ble
impr
essi
on ra
te
Report source: CRB
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
Unique EnhancementsGreater accuracy and power
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Unique impression enhancements
▸ Adjusted unique impression counting
▸ Unique dwell metric
▸ Impression with dwell metric
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Adjusted unique: a statistical method for counting unique impressions, aligned with the IAB measurement standards“
”
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Adjusted unique
▸ Previously: we identified unique users based on cookies. This often results in over counting
▸ The problem with cookies?Some users delete cookiesSome users block cookies altogetherSome users use more than once computer/browser etc
▸ A UK study found that 33% of UK users delete cookies every month
▸ The same study found that cookies are over counted by x5.1 Source: comSore, September 2009 – Proposal for a new Person-Centric Measure
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
▸ Analytics v4: a new statistical algorithm to project the number of unique users
▸ Analyses users with reliable cookies as a sample to statistically project the activity of the entire population
▸ Also influences unique; clicks, expanding users, video viewers and dwell. Only available in special report in Analytics
Adjusted unique
CampaignFrequency = sum of ‘good’ cookie
sum of ‘good’ impressions X served impressions
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Adjusted unique example
User: Geoff (1)User: Geoff (1)
Campaign period
Time
Day 30252015105Day 0
Type Cookies ImpressionsGood: 1 2
Bad: 2 2
Total: 4
User: Bob (2)
Other exposures
User: Adrian (4)
User: Geoff (1)
Bob deleted cookie
User: Bob (3)
CampaignFrequency = 1
2 X 4 = 2
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▸ Unique Dwell:The number of unique users who spent at least one second engaging with the ad
▸ Impressions with Dwell:The total number of impressions for which users engaged with the ad for at least one second
▸ Found in the following reports:Unique metrics summary reportAdjusted unique reportCampaign presentationCustom report builder
New unique metrics
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How can we use this?
▸ Soon to be certified by the IAB
▸ Increased accuracy in counting unique metrics
▸ Apply analysis to the metrics that count
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Increased tracking and reporting flexibility
Smart Versioning Reporting
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Tracking smart versioned changes to creative
▸ Previously: track changes in the ad using the “Ad History” log or two custom reports
▸ The problem?Only PS could generate reports displaying more metricsDifficult to readNo context on what the change(s) were
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Tracking smart versioned changes to creative
▸ Analytics v4: additional labelling to provide more informative tracking and reporting analysis
▸ Smart Version Group: User defined name for the version of creative that can be accessed in analytics
▸ Smart Version (Y/N) (Reporting Field):Indicates whether the ad unit has a smart version capability
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Reporting example
▸ Found in the following reports:Online report (flat and formatted – grouped by ad name) Custom report builder
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How can we use this?
▸ Give creative versions informative names
▸ Easily benchmark performance of versions
▸ Vertical comparison to see what performed best
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Miscellaneous
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▸ Ability to compare HD video against SD video
▸ New field called ‘Video quality’
▸ Available in:Video by ad name reportCustom report builderExcel Plug-in
▸ Note: HD (>= 1800 Kbps), SD (<1800 Kbps)
High Definition (HD) video reporting
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▸ Previously: data capture form data was only accessible from the creative tab
Data capture reporting
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▸ Analytics v4: data now available within Analytics and includes scheduling options
Data capture reporting
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▸ For agencies who require event data for further in-house analysis
▸ Offered as a service
▸ Data provided:Standard events fileRich events fileConversion events fileMetadata
Cookie level data
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▸ CC4S reports available in flat excel format
▸ New permissions to limit access to only CC4S data and modules, access includes:
Search integration module in MediaMindSearch reports in Analytics, including custom reports.Exposure only to relevant display campaigns in the reports
▸ Role: ‘Client - Chanel Connect for Search user’
CC4S reporting
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
▸ Analytics v4 now looks like MediaMind!
▸ ‘My Saved Reports’ can now be sorted, customised, filtered, and exported to Excel
▸ Select account from report generation page
▸ Add up to 300 items in filters (was 50)
▸ Run reports directly from the campaign list
Interface enhancements
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Summary
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
▸ Cookie window:New settings take place within 24 hours
▸ Visible impressions:Accurate since January 2010Provided at a cost (free during beta)By default only collects data for rich media creative
▸ Path lengthPaths of 11 events to 100 provided at a cost (free during beta)Paths of up to a year can be storedStoring the additional data starts once this feature is enabled
To be aware of
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
▸ Adjusted unique:Metrics accurate as of May 3rd, 2010
▸ Cookie level data:Currently in betaProvided at a cost (free during beta)Not for the faint of hearted, strong customer service required
To be aware of
© 2010 MediaMind Technologies Inc. | All rights reserved
MediaMindOpen Workflow
Streamlined Ad Serving
Analytics v4 summary
Actionable Analytics
Conversion enhancements
Cookie window enhancements
Conversion attribution
models
Path length ($$$)
Performance by frequency
New metrics (inc. Conv)
Increased frequency buckets
Dwell rate
Visibility metrics ($$$)
Unique enhancements
Adjusted unique
Unique dwell metric
Impression with dwell
Misc
HD vs SD reporting
CC4S reporting + role
Data capture reporting
New analytics interface
Smart versioning reporting
Cookie level data ($$$)
www.mediamind.com
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+61 (2) 8243 0008
@mediamind_chat
@creative_zone
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Thank you!