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Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

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Closing the loop Enhancing user experience with Rewarded ad-monetization Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017 Tal Shoham VP International Business Development, ironSource
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Page 1: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Closing the loopEnhancing user experiencewith Rewarded ad-monetization

Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017

Tal ShohamVP International Business Development, ironSource

Page 2: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Changing the focus

Ad Monetization

Revenue

Attention for IAPs

Attention Ad Monetization

IAP Revenue

Revenue Attention

Page 3: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

How we analyze

IAP metrics

● % of paying users

● Retention rate

● Churn rate

● Average session duration

● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU

● Type of reward - virtual goods

● Timing

● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales

Page 4: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

How we analyze

IAP metrics

● % of paying users

● Retention rate

● Churn rate

● Average session duration

● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU

● Type of reward - virtual goods

● Timing

● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales

Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics

● ER / UR

● Retention rate

● Churn rate

● Average session duration

● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU

● Type of reward

● Timing

● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales

Page 5: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Engagement Rate and Usage Rate

Engagement Rate Usage Rate

6 Videos

100%Users

40%Users

1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions

Page 6: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

App A App B

Page 7: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

7.0

6.0

5.0

4.0

3.0

2.0

1.0

53% 7

EngagementRate

Usage Rate

50%

40%

30%

20%

10%

App A

7.0

6.0

5.0

4.0

3.0

2.0

1.0

12% 3

EngagementRate

Usage Rate

50%

40%

30%

20%

10%

App B

7.0

6.0

5.0

4.0

3.0

2.0

1.0

6

EngagementRate

Usage Rate

50%

40%

30%

20%

10%

Casino subcategory average

31%

6X

Page 8: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

How to improveER and UR?

Placement ● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks

in the app

● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number of clicks for user

Reward ● How important is the currency to playing the game?

● Different currencies for each ad unit

User Flow● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points?

● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards

Traffic Driver ● Where are your traffic drivers located?

● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory?

● Give them a consistent look & feel

Page 9: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

The Power of Exponential Rewards

Page 10: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Case Study

Not Doppler● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game

economy for their game Earn To Die 2

● Video reward system adapted to player’s in-game progress with exponential inflation for upgrades in the app

● Benefits

○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38%

○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory averageUR increased from 4.5 to 6

● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks

Oct Nov

10%

20%

30%

40%

Page 11: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Boost ARPDAU withNew Ad Placements

Page 12: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Case Study

Fiveamp● Wanted to boost monetization and ad

engagement without disrupting user experience

● Added additional placement of RV

● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by offering users the choice between 1 reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3

● Benefits

○ ARPDAU increased x2.5

○ 165% increase in revenue

○ 94% boost to ER

Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement

RevenueJumps 165%

● Revenue Growth

Page 13: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

SegmentationNot all users are equal, so don’t treat them like they are

Page 14: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

1 2 3Paying vs. non-paying

usersEngaged with ads vs. non engaged

users

Custom in-app event i.e. Level 5 reached

Page 15: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Impressions *User quality for

advertisers IPM

Implementation - Placements, Flow

Engagement Rate Usage Rate(Imp/engaged user)

VisibilityAttractiveness

TimingAlignment with virtual economy

eCPM

Revenue =

Page 16: Enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization

Thank You


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