+ All Categories
Home > Business > GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Date post: 12-May-2015
Category:
Upload: digital-insights
View: 638 times
Download: 0 times
Share this document with a friend
Description:
GCD Week 2 - Digital Marketing Strategy & Planning
Popular Tags:
76
Week 2 – Digital Strategy and Planning Keith Feighery
Transcript
Page 1: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Week 2 – Digital Strategy and Planning

Keith Feighery

Page 2: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

The Digital Marketing Ecosystem

Page 3: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning
Page 4: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Companies, both big and small, need to imagine themselves as publishers

Trick is to be engaging and provide value to target audience

Page 5: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

That’s why Inbound & Content Marketing are so Important

Page 6: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Hubspot – Inbound Marketing Company view

Page 7: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Inbound & Content Marketing Channels

Page 8: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Digital Strategy & Planning

Page 9: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Digital Strategy & Planning

Source RedAnt.co.uk

Page 10: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

SOSTAC Framework

Page 11: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

UsingRACE

forDigital

Marketing Optimisation

Page 12: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Planning Phase

Page 13: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Planning

• Define business objectives– Increase sales, Increase awareness, increase retention rates, create

demand, educate audience, augment lead generation etc..• Define audience and break down into personas & needs

– Personas, Influencers, Advocates, – Demographics, Psychographics, SocialGraphics etc.

• Audience locations and value of each audience segment– Where do the reside digitally, what are their preferences, how do they

consume media, what are their required informational needs• Aligning digital strategy with brand

– What is the tone, voice, perception currently presented

Page 14: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Personas

Source RedAnt.co.uk

Page 15: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Location Setting

Source RedAnt.co.uk

Page 16: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Goals and Audience Location Analysis

Source RedAnt.co.uk

Page 17: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Creation Phase

Page 18: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Creation• Once strategy, audience, locations are known

– Start conceiving, designing and creating tactical solutions• Identify themes, channels, tone, aims for each tactical channel and

initiative– PPC, Social Platforms, SEO, Display, Affiliate, Email, Lead Gen etc…

• Create Digital Presence on Key Platforms– Website, Social Channels, Ad Platforms, Email etc..

• Initiate a content marketing production programme– Map this out along with personas and buyer cycles

• Define KPIs for each programme – know upfront what success will look like (by corollary failure too)

Page 19: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Mapping audience, solutions and projected ROI

Source RedAnt.co.uk

Page 20: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Channel ROI Work-Through

• Spend €30,000 on PPC Channel• 1 Million Impressions • 30000 Clicks (3% CTR)• 3% Conversion Rate (900)• CPA = 30000/900 -> €33.33 (Cost to Acquire One New Customer)• Average Order Size €100 • 50% Profit on Sales Earned = €50.00• Profit Per Average Customer = (€50.00 – €33.33) = €16.67• Total Amount ordered – 900 x 100 = €90,000 Generated• 50% Profit Margin = €45,000 (900 x 50)• Total ROI - €15,000 (16.67 x 900) or (€45,000 – €30,000)• Extrapolate Customer Lifetime Value

Page 21: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Measurement

• Key Performance Indicators– Measures that help you understand how you are

doing against your objectives.– highlight success, or failures, for the objectives you

have created for your organization

Page 22: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Typical Trackable KPIs

• Increase Rate & Value of Conversions• Increase Average order size (ecommerce apps)• Increase Customer Lifetime Value• Increase Average Revenue Per User• Reduce Cost per Lead & Cost Per Sale• Reduce Core Bounce rates• Increase Frequency and Return rates• Reduce Abandonment rates

Page 23: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Metrics

• Traffic Related Statistics– # Page Views, Visits, Unique Visitors

• Channel Statistics – Decomposition of Organic, Paid, Email, Direct etc..

• Social Stats– # of Twitter, FB, Blog, LinkedIn followers/comments

• # of 3rd Party Links – Partners, Referrals, Promotions, Affiliates

• # of Newsletter signups• # of Site Specific Downloads

– Webinar Views, Articles, Whitepapers, podcasts

Page 24: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Simple KPI Framework

Page 25: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Actualisation Phase

Page 26: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Actualisation

• Real-time implementation of each channel, campaign and platform

• Engaging and interacting with your audiences• Reacting to issues and tweaking campaigns as they proceed live• Constantly compare performance with projected KPIs created

during the previous phases• Create a cross functional communications feedback loop to

resolve all issues and update status• Capture all lessons learnt in a repository in order to feedback

into an improvement process

Page 27: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Actualisation Core Tactics

Page 28: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Social Media Programmes

Page 29: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Challenge is to build engaging digital and social strategies aligned with clear business

objectives for each channel

Page 30: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Be Social – Interact with People & Solicit Feedback and Responses

Page 31: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Be Entertaining, Informative or Offer Something of VALUE to Followers

Page 32: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Elements of a social media campaign

• Essentials of a successful campaign– Know your target audience– Plan goals and aims of campaign and channel– Think about the tone, voice and personality to adopt– Choose your platforms carefully– Think about the type of content to use on each platform– Take risks – not everything will work– Connect to other channels

Page 33: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Social Media Case Studies

Page 34: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Muller Display Irish Times

Page 35: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Muller Facebook

Page 36: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Muller – The Wall

Page 37: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Muller YouTube

Page 38: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Barrys Tea Website

Page 39: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Barry’s Tea Landing Page

Page 40: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Barry’s Tea Wall

Page 41: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Tayto Crisps

Page 42: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Tayto Wall

Page 43: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Controversial Hunky Dory Page

Page 44: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Marks and Spencer’s Ireland Display Ad

Page 45: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Marks and Spencers Ireland Wall

Page 46: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Marks and Spencer’s Website

Page 47: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Westcoast Cooler

Page 48: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Hairy Baby

Page 49: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Hairybaby

Page 50: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Engaging with Fans

Page 51: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Getting People To Respond

Page 52: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

MakeupAndBeauty.ie

Page 53: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Big Brands Need to be Plan for Crisis on Social Media

Page 54: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Nestle

Page 55: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Pay Per Click Advertising

Page 56: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

PPC Examples

Page 57: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Search: Health Insurance Quote

Page 58: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Search ‘Im Sorry Flowers’

Page 59: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Search Engine Optimisation

Page 60: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

SEO Case Example

Page 61: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Search: Flowers for newborn baby

Page 62: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Newborn Flowers

Page 63: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Email Marketing

Page 64: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Email Applications

Page 65: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Case Studies

Page 66: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

CityDeal.ie

Page 67: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning
Page 68: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Schuh

Page 69: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning
Page 70: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Evaluation Phase

Page 71: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

KPIs & Goals set in the Creation Phases should be assessed according to actuals

Page 72: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Ongoing KPI & Metric Analysis

Page 73: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Evaluation Feedback loop

• Implement a continuous learning and improvement framework• All findings and experiences should feed into subsequent

phases, campaigns and initiatives• Refine reporting process

– Improve ROI metrics in their broadest sense– Educate management through correlation of digital

and business goals– Iterate constantly

Page 74: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Questions & Answers

Page 75: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Contact Details

www.linkedin.com/in/keithfeighery

www.twitter.com/kfeighery

www.faceboook.com/keith.feighery

[email protected]

086 6070274

Page 76: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning

Thank You


Recommended