Date post: | 08-Jan-2017 |
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How To MeasureYour Content Marketing
Calculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael
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WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to primary channel
Distribute content to earned media
Distribute content to paid media
Measure ROI of content marketing
Optimize and target distribution
Optimize for subscriptions & offers
Marketing ROI is the #1 Objective for Marketers in 2016
Documented content marketing strategy
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PART ONE
/ Build The Business Case
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
1
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CEOs and Boards will no longer accept
marketing that doesn’t
deliver results!
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Less likely to click on a banner than…
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We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in
and be what people are interested
in!
Earn Your Audience’s Attention
vs.Buying or Interrupting it.
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Reach early stage buyers
Engage new buyers with your
brand
Conversions you would have never
reached
= $
Build The Business Case
@BrennerMichael
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2011: SAP launches major new product
Marketing Budgets
Marketing Contribution
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Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.)
Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715
Tried To Build The Business Case With Data
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleLate-Stage
Content66%
Early-Stage Content6%
Middle-Stage Content
28%
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IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
ContentMarketing
What Brands Publish
WhatCustomers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy@BrennerMichael
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BUT: We had no budget
Engagement?99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?$200,000
Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO
Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?70%
How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%
Conversions?~1,000 in year 1
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0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
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The buyer journey is nothing
more than a series of questions
that must be answered.
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How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?
@BrennerMichael
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CONTENT MARKETING
ArticlesNews InfographicsSocial Content Quizzes
VideoWhitepapersWebinarsPodcastsHow-To Guides
EventsNewsletters Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product contentOffers
BrochuresCustomer Testimonials
Case studiesAds
CONSIDERATION
AWARENESS
DECISION
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
1580
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Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search / Social Volum
e
What is Content Marketing?
(100 - 3000 X)
How do I succeed with Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help me with
content marketing?
(1)
Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
@BrennerMichael
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleYour
Customers Middle
Early What is / are?Why important
LateWho?How much?Where? 1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to? 10
Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top
questions
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PART TWO
/ Find The Budget
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
2
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What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
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The Easiest Way To Find Budget For ContentMarketing . . .
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STOP Creating Content No One
Wants
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Content Used30%
Content Not Used70%
Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy = $
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Excuse me boss but. . .
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero Measurable Results?
=$
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The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick) .06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors10,000 Subscribers1,000 Leads
@BrennerMichael
Re-Purpose•Executive PowerPoints
•Whitepapers
•Customer Service and Sales FAQs
•Your emails = answers
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
OPP (OPC)•Act as a journalists at events
•Cover competitor and industry research
•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
Create Stuff Easy
• Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry
• Extract the expertise inside your company• What is…• Why is this important...• How to achieve success with ...
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@BrennerMichael
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150
100
200
300
400
500
600
-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING
# A
rtic
les
Page
view
s
________ Leads
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http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =
With Less
Do The Same
What is ROI?
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How do you explain the importance of
empathy to executives who don’t have any?
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
4/8/124/22/12
5/6/125/20/12
6/3/126/17/12
7/1/127/15/12
7/29/128/12/12
8/26/129/9/12
9/23/1210/7/12
10/21/12
11/4/1211/18/12
12/2/1212/16/12
12/30/12
1/13/131/27/13
2/10/132/24/13
3/10/133/24/13
4/7/134/21/13
5/5/135/19/13
6/2/136/16/13
6/30/137/14/13
7/28/13
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines
national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year+ 3K new followers / week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
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Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate
X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)
x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL) x 40% Closed / Won
x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000 ($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to
acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention = 95% increase in ROI.
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleContent Marketing
ROI:Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal.
Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - RetentionThe Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers@BrennerMichael
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula