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India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

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India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study. Arnab Sinha Sudipta Ray. Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur. 3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET. Market Trends. Service Promotion. Cost Structure. Existing Market Competition. Technology Requirements. Evaluation of Policies. - PowerPoint PPT Presentation
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India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study Arnab Sinha Sudipta Ray Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
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Page 1: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

India - A Potential 3G Market

A Feasibility Study

Arnab SinhaSudipta Ray

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Page 2: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 3: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 4: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

PROJECTED SUBSCRIBER POPULATION

0

40

80

120

160

200

240

280

320

360

400

440

su

bscri

ber

po

pu

lati

on

in

mil

lio

ns

subscriber population (millions) Poly. (subscriber population (millions))

394350 350394

469

0

50

100

150

200

250

300

350

400

450

500

AR

PU(R

s/m

onth

)

Expected Usage in 2007:111 million

(from CAGR of 94%)

Market Trends

Cheaper Infrastructure

Cost

Page 5: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 6: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Existing Market Competition

Stake in Existing Market :Technology relied upon :

Total Investment :

Analyzing the predicted Market Revenue Trends, expected Break Even Period for Vodafone

BHARTI (10%)GSM (Larger service

range in India)1.5 billion USD

Our Target Break Even before

February 2008

Vodafone Break Even

Page 7: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluationof Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 8: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Business Base

Current Position of Reliance in market- 20.3 % of the subscriber population- Largest CDMA provider in India

- 54% of the population is below the age of 241

- Estimated youth’s annual spending US$10.5 billion1

Population Count in 2006(millions)

10%

20%

11%

10%16%

13%

9%

4%7%

0-4

5to14

15-19

20-24

25-34

35-44

45-54

55-59

60&above

Collaboration with Reliance!

Targeting the Youth Section!Launching the service on Valentine’s Day!

Customer Base

Page 9: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluationof Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 10: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

• Increased talk time• Superior Power Control • Lowest radiation level• Hi-Speed Internet Access

– India has less than 0.4% penetration CDMA1x handsets (140 kbps)

• Most successful 3G Tech– CDMA2000 controls 85% of the World’s 3G market – Adds 15 million new users per quarter Worldwide

• Better Voice & Consistent Quality• Advanced platform supporting innovative

applications• GSM 3G evolution relies on CDMA

Technology Requirements

Hence CDMA – choice for the 3rd generation!

Page 11: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 12: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Cost Structure

Total RelianceRevenue =

Normal Revenue + 3G RevenueYoung Reliance

CustomersReliance SubscriberAccessing Internet

Estd. Avg Packet Consumption

per month (APC)Charge (C)Packet wiseBilling

Page 13: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Cost Structure

50p for each 128

Bytes packet

Billing Structure

Following Japan’s estimate5

APC=8192(1MB)

Reliance Customer Base 20.3% of

38.5 Mn6= 7.82 Mn

Target 54%1 Young Customer= 4.22 million

Total RelianceRevenue =

Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue

Young Reliance CustomersReliance Subscriber

Accessing InternetEstd. Avg Packet Consumption

per month (APC)Charge (C)Packet wisebilling

07 07

06 06

( ) ( ). 0.36 ( ).Dec Dec

Feb Feb

ARPU t pop t dt C APC pop t dt

Target Break even December 2007

COMPUTATION STEPS

Page 14: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Estimated Breakup of Expenses

Estimated cost for infrastructure, planning services, site civil works (based on other countries’ statistics)14

106.4 billion INR Licensing fees, sales and marketing cost

(26%15 of the acquired revenue) 7.49 billion INR

Total Expense (Approx) 115 billion INR

Feb, 2006 Dec, 2007

Estd. Revenue Earned143 billion

Large Profit Margin

Page 15: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 16: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Service Promotion

Attractive RateUtilities as per demand Handset Cost

Communication

Entertainment

Information Services

Agro-business

Optional CommercialServices

Communication

Entertainment

Information Services

Agro-business

Optional CommercialServices

Average HandsetPrice

19, 448 INR

Average HandsetPrice

19, 448 INR

ARPU 1475 INR only

ARPU 1475 INR only

Advertisement

Page 17: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

ServicePromotion

3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

Market Trends

Existing MarketCompetition

Business BaseEvaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 18: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Largest CDMA Provider

Defeat VodafoneLucrative Offers

after Dec’07

Appeasementof

Government

Adaptive to Market Forces

Evaluation of Policies

Reliance

Target Break Even – Dec’07

Survival of Competition

Early Start

BeneficialUtilities

Wider Estd.Profit margin

Page 19: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Thank You!

ServicePromotion

Market Trends

Existing Market

Competition

Business Base

Evaluation of Policies

CostStructure

Technology Requirements

Page 20: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

References

1. Statistical Outline of India 2002-032. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,Dec 7, 2005 Media Release3. http://www.stylusinc.com/internet_potential_india.htm4. http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/1515. http://ojr.org/japan/wireless/1084495929.php6. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,Dec 7, 2005 Media Release7. http://shopping.yahoo.com.au/8. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f39. http://blogs.zdnet.com/ITFacts/?p=906510. http://www.w2forum.com/item/us_wireless_market_reach_neartotal _saturation_200911. http://www.mouthshut.com/review/GSM_Mobile_Technology_Vs_ CDMA_Mobile_Technology-34613-1.html13. http://www.businessworldindia.com/sep2004/news08.asp14. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f3615. www.auspi.org/presentation/AUSPI-press-conference.ppt

Page 21: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Backup Slides

Page 22: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

World-Market Share

Samsung11%

Motorola15%

SonyEricsson

5%

NOKIA34%

others27%

siemens8%

₤178-570

$990 ₤190-279

₤215-420

The Average International Market Price of 3G mobile Handsets =

World market sharei x Avg. handset cost x conversion factori

= 19,448 INR

Source: Gartner, 2003

Back

Page 23: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Computation Steps under Packet-Wise Billing Current Internet User Count=38.5million2

Reliance Subscriber Count=20.3%of 38.5=7.82million Targeted Youth Population=54%of 7.82=4.22million Customer Base for Reliance=11.65million(data

provided) Ratio for Target Customer for 3G= 4.22/11.65 = 0.36

Considering this ratio remaining constant, Revenue earned within the breakeven period limits::

Revenue earned by telephony Revenue earned by internet usage

Page 24: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Computation Steps cont..• Revenue earned by telephony:

∫ ARPU(t)xsub.population(t) = Area under the Revenue

Curve

= 1485.76 billion INR

• Revenue earned by internet usage:=Charge per packet ( C ) x Avg.Packetconsumption (APC) x Ratio of Target Customers x ∫Sub.population(t)= 0.5x8192x0.36x{Area under the Subscriber Poplulation Curve}

=5558.501 billion INR

• Total Revenue =7044.26billionINR

Plot Depicting [ARPU(t) x population(t)]

22572.2620574.68

38951.5

75572

0

10000

20000

30000

40000

50000

60000

70000

80000

90000

100000

110000

120000

130000

140000

150000

reve

nu

e co

llect

ed in

mill

ion

s

Plot Depicting

Subcriber Popluation(t)

57.2952.22

111.29

215.92

0

40

80

120

160

200

240

280

320

360

400

440

su

bscri

ber

po

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lati

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ns

Page 25: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Computation Steps cont.

• Total Revenue = 7044.26 billion

• Total Reliance Revenue = 20.3% of 7044.26 = 1429.99 billion

If acquired a 10% stake,• Returns to the company = 10%

of 1429.99 • ≈ 143 billion >> 115 billion

(investment cost)

07 07

06 06

( ) ( ). 0.36 ( ).Dec Dec

Feb Feb

ARPU t pop t dt C APC pop t dt

Back

Page 26: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Vodafone’s Returns: Computation steps for the Breakeven

833.5

1617.24

483.04

440.3481.9

0

200

400

600

800

1000

1200

1400

1600

1800

Voda

fone

's re

turn

s (m

illio

ns IN

R)

Vodafone's returns 481.85717 440.29815 483.04636 833.5621 1617.2408

12/1/04 3/1/05 6/1/05 6/1/06 6/1/07

• Based on the PlotReturns(t) = Area Under the Plot= 10667.93 +89.71 t2 +833.56 t

(billions)

• Returns till Breakeven period = 1.5 billion USD= 63000 million INR*

• Solving for t:t =19.95 months ≈ 20 months By February 2008.*Exchange rate =Rs 42/- Back

Page 27: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Aiming the technologyAiming the technology Source: CDG, AUSPI, TelecomWatch,COAI, TRAI

Wireless Technology trends

39

64

71

79

84

5

14

25

34

44

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

No. of networks.

CDMA

GSM

Tariff fall and teledensity increase

43.5

21.5

1

0.5 12.8

4.66.5

012345

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005

Tarif

f(Rs/m

in)

0

2

4

6

8

Teled

ensit

y(%)

Tariff(Rs/min) Teledensity(percentage)

Wireless growth after introduction of CDMA4:Subscriber growth in GSM: CAGR of 74%*

Subscriber growth in CDMA: CAGR of 205%*

Increase in Teledensity: 6%*

Decrease in tariff: 75%*

Page 28: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

Indian MarketIndian Market FeasibilityFeasibility

Indian Market Feasibility

239 236

287

93

33 32

12

8

0

5

10

15

20

25

30

35

Australia Singapore China India

AR

PU

(U

S$)

0

50

100

150

200

250

300

350

Min

ute

s o

f U

sag

e (m

in/m

on

th)

MOU per month ARPU($)

Page 29: India - A Potential 3G Market A Feasibility Study

TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH?TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH?Population Count in 2006(millions)

10%

20%

11%

10%16%

13%

9%

4%7%

0-4

5to14

15-19

20-24

25-34

35-44

45-54

55-59

60&above• 54% of the population is below the age of 24• Estimated youth’s annual spending US$10.5bn with growth

rate of 12%1

• 55% of young India opts for career in web related activities3

• Demand for internet access (38.5 Mn currently) may shoot up to 100 Mn in 2 years.

Trends in population

190.8

120.8122.4105108.5 117.490.2

156.6170.6

0

50

100

150

200

250

2001 2005 2010

Popu

latio

n(m

illion

s)

15to19 20-24 25-34


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