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[PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should...

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SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth June 2014
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Page 1: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth

June 2014

Page 2: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

2

SaaS Money Metrics

1. About IVP

2. SaaS Market Overview

3. Measuring SaaS Efficiency

4. Retention is King

Page 3: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

3

IVP History

Page 4: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

4

IVP Summary

Current Fund: IVP XIV, a $1 billion later-stage venture capital fund

Target Sectors: Tech only (Consumer and Enterprise)

Investment Focus: Growth companies, generally with over $10 million in revenue

Geography: Primarily United States

Team: 6 General Partners with over 100 years of combined experience

Portfolio: Over 300 companies, 99 of which have gone public

Page 5: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

5

IVP SaaS Investments

Page 6: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

6

SaaS Money Metrics

1. About IVP

2. SaaS Market Overview

3. Measuring SaaS Efficiency

4. Retention is King

Page 7: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

7

The World Has Changed

44% Decline

Page 8: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

8

Growth No Longer Rewarded as Highly

Source: Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Page 9: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

9

Red is the New Black: LTM EBITDA %: 2012-2014 Software IPOs

(110.0%)

(90.0%)

(70.0%)

(50.0%)

(30.0%)

(10.0%)

10.0%

30.0%

Page 10: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

10

SaaS Money Metrics

1. About IVP

2. SaaS Market Overview

3. Measuring SaaS Efficiency

4. Retention is King

Page 11: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

11

ThrustSSC

760 MPH.04 MPG

Page 12: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

12

Chevy Spark EV

89 MPH128 MPG

Page 13: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

13

Two Measures of SaaS Efficiency

1. Magic Number

2. LTV / CAC

Page 14: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

14

Magic Number

Magic Number =(Q1 GP$ - Q4 GP$) *4

Q4 S&M$

A Magic Number of 1 means you break even on

your sales and marketing spend after 1 year

Page 15: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

15

Magic Number Example

Q4 2013 Q1 2014Revenue 22,501 25,092

Gross Profit 14,848 16,097

Operating ExpensesR&D 4,551 5,178S&M 11,404 14,287G&A 4,693 6,384

Operating Loss (5,800) (9,752)

Magic Number 0.44xTime to Breakeven 2.3 years

Magic Number = = 0.44x or 2.3 yrs to breakeven($16.1 – $14.8) *4

$11.4

Page 16: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

16

LTV / CAC

LTV / CAC =GP$ Per Customer * Avg. Customer Life

Customer Acquisition Cost

Page 17: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

17

LTV / CAC Example

LTV / CAC = = 7x$700 * 5

$500

• You sell your product for $1,000 per year at 70% GP

• Customers churn 20% per year (5 year average life)

• It costs $500 to acquire each customer

Page 18: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

18

-100%

0%

100%

200%

300%

400%

1 5 9 13 17 21 25 29 33 37 41 45 49 53 57 61 65 69 73 77 81 85 89 93 97

LTV / CAC Over Time

Magic Number

LTV / CAC

Page 19: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

19

SaaS Efficiency Goals

1. Magic Number = Above 0.5x (Less than 2 years)

2. LTV / CAC = Above 5x

Page 20: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

20

SaaS Money Metrics

1. About IVP

2. SaaS Market Overview

3. Measuring SaaS Efficiency

4. Retention is King

Page 21: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

21

Retention Trumps Growth

Company A

$200K New Revenue Per Month

90% Monthly Retention

3 Years Later = $2.0M Run-Rate

Company B

$100K New Revenue Per Month

99% Monthly Retention

3 Years Later = $3.1M Run-Rate

0

500,000

1,000,000

1,500,000

2,000,000

2,500,000

3,000,000

3,500,000

0 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 360

500,000

1,000,000

1,500,000

2,000,000

2,500,000

3,000,000

3,500,000

0 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 32 34 36

Page 22: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

22

Retention vs. Growth

High Growth Hare Unicorn

Low Growth Sloth Tortoise

Low Retention High Retention

Page 23: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

23

Case Study: Hare (AVG Technologies)

Source: Company filings. Analyst reports.

$0

$100

$200

$300

$400

$500

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014E 2015E

47% CAGR6% CAGR

Consumer Software Churn = 30-40% Per Year

Page 24: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

24

Case Study: Tortoise (Concur)

$0

$200

$400

$600

$800

$1,000

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

E

2015

E

28% CAGR

Customer Churn = 2% Per Year

Source: Company filings. Analyst reports.

Page 25: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

25

Case Study: Unicorn (Workday)

$0

$200

$400

$600

$800

$1,000

$1,200

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014E 2015E

109% CAGR

Low/Negative Churn – 3 to 5 Year Contracts

Source: Company filings. Analyst reports.

Page 26: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

26

Retention vs. Growth

High Growth Hare Unicorn

Low Growth Sloth Tortoise

Low Retention High Retention

Page 27: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

27

Retention vs. Growth

Page 28: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

28

Measuring Cohort Revenue

Source: David Skok. SaaS Metrics.

Page 29: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

29

Tortoise or Hare?

$0

$20,000

$40,000

$60,000

$80,000

$100,000

$120,000

$140,000

$160,000

$180,000

Jan 12 Feb 12 Mar 12 Apr 12 May 12 Jun 12 Jul 12 Aug 12 Sep 12 Oct 12 Nov 12 Dec 12 Jan 13 Feb 13 Mar 13

Revenue

Revenue

Page 30: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

30

Cohort Revenue (Negative Churn)

Source: Model adapted from Startup Calculus (Joe Floyd)

$0

$20,000

$40,000

$60,000

$80,000

$100,000

$120,000

$140,000

$160,000

$180,000

Jan 12 Feb 12 Mar 12 Apr 12 May 12 Jun 12 Jul 12 Aug 12 Sep 12 Oct 12 Nov 12 Dec 12 Jan 13 Feb 13 Mar 13

Revenue Growth by Cohort

Mar 13

Feb 13

Jan 13

Dec 12

Nov 12

Oct 12

Sep 12

Aug 12

Jul 12

Jun 12

May 12

Apr 12

Mar 12

Feb 12

Jan 12

Page 31: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

31

$0

$20,000

$40,000

$60,000

$80,000

$100,000

$120,000

$140,000

$160,000

$180,000

Jan 12 Feb 12 Mar 12 Apr 12 May 12 Jun 12 Jul 12 Aug 12 Sep 12 Oct 12 Nov 12 Dec 12 Jan 13 Feb 13 Mar 13

Revenue Growth by Cohort

Mar 13

Feb 13

Jan 13

Dec 12

Nov 12

Oct 12

Sep 12

Aug 12

Jul 12

Jun 12

May 12

Apr 12

Mar 12

Feb 12

Jan 12

Source: Model adapted from Startup Calculus (Joe Floyd)

Cohort Revenue (8% Churn)

Page 32: [PREMONEY 2014] Institutional Venture Partners>> Jules Maltz, "SaaS Money Metrics: Why VCs Should Focus More on Retention Than Growth"

32

QuestionsJules Maltz

General Partner, IVP

[email protected]

@julesmaltz

Thank You!


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