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Page 1: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.
Page 2: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The main steps in developing an effective communication are

1) Identify target audience 2) Determine the communication objectives 3) Designing the message 4) Select the communication channels 5) Allocate the total promotion budget 6) Decide on the promotion mix 7) Measure the promotion’s results 8) Manage and coordinate the total marketing process

Page 3: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Identify target audience Through the process of Segmentation and targeting, find

the target audience a) Who could be the potential buyers b) Who are current buyers and current influencers The target audience will influence the communicators

decision on what to say , how to say it, when to say it, where to say it and to whom to say it.

Page 4: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Determine the communication objectives The marketer could be seeking cognitive response-- The advertiser might want to put

something in the consumer s’ mind Affective response----Change consumer’s attitude Behavioral response---get the consumer to act

This sequence is called “ Learn-feel- do” --- is appropriate when the audience has high involvement with the product category perceived to have high differentiation -- e.g Cars, Consumer durable etc.

Page 5: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Stages

Cognitive stage

Affective stage

Behaviour stage

AIDA Hierarchy Innovation information of effects adoption

processing model model model model

Attention

Interest

Desire

Action

Awareness

Knowledge

LikingPreferenceconviction

Purchase

AwarenessinterestevaluationTrial

Adoption

Presentation Attention Comprehension Yielding Retention behaviour

Response Hierarchy models--- learn--feel---do

Page 6: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The AIDA model was proposed by E.F Strong.

The AIDA model which was developed in the 1920’s suggested that an effective sales presentation should attract attention, gain interest, stimulate desire and ultimately precipitate action (purchase).

If an advertisement can do all this , its great for the brand.

Page 7: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Hierarchy of effects- Lavidge and Steiner

This is one of the best known models. This model helps in setting advertising objectives

and provides a basis for measuring results. It also suggests that the advertising produces its

effects by moving the consumer through a series of steps in a sequence from initial awareness to ultimate purchase of product /service.

This sequential order indicates the basic premises that advertising effects are elicited over a period of time.

Page 8: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

e.g When a person sees The Maruti Alto ad, he may like the ad.

When he wants to buy a car, he will find out more about Alto.

Over a period of time, he will like Alto and probably start believing that Alto is the best car.

He finally buys Alto.

Page 9: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Unaware

Aware

Comprehension and Image

Attitude

Action

The DAGMAR Approach- Russell Colley

Page 10: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

In 1961 , Russell Colley wrote a book --- “Defining Advertising Goals for Measured Advertising Results”.

An advertising goal is a specific communication task to be accomplished among a defined audience in a given period of time.

In the DAGMAR approach, the communication task is based on a specific model of the communication process as shown above.

The model suggests that there is a series of mental steps through which a brand or object must climb to gain acceptance

The individual starts at some point by being unaware of a brand’s presence in the market.

Page 11: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The initial communication task of the brand is to increase consumer awareness of the brand.

The second step of the communication process is brand comprehension.

This involves the audience member learning something about the brand like

a) What are its characteristicsb) In what way is it

different from competition c) Whom is it supposed to benefit

Page 12: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The third step is the attitude or conviction step The action phase involves some overt move on

the buyer such asa) trying the brandb) visiting a showroomc) asking more information

This model is similar to hierarchy of effects model--- as the consumer is sequentially passing through a set of steps.

Page 13: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

3) Design the Message A) Message content :- appeal, theme, idea or USP.

Appeals :

1) Rational appeal---- messages demonstrating product’s quality, economy value or performance. e.g The HPCL Turbojet ad talks of mileage.

2) Emotional Appeal : attempts to stir up negative or positive emotions that will motivate purchase

Negative emotional appeals are -- fear , guilt, shamePositive appeals are :-- Humour, love, pride, joy.

3) Moral Appeal : to support social causes

Page 14: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

B) Message Format: Print: headline, copy, illustration and color.

Radio: choose right words, voice qualities (speech rate, rhythm, articulation , diction) and vocalizations (pause, sigh, laughter, sigh)

Television -- all the above plus body language--- facial expressions, gestures, dresses, posture and hair style.

Page 15: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

C) Message Source: celebrity, common man, doctors, dentists --

Factors to consider--- trustworthiness, likeability, fit with the product category.

e.g Vishwanathan anand endorsing NIIT , Rahul Dravid endorisng castrol. Vishwanathan Anand fits with the product category Software, as both chess and Software requires considerable usage of brain power.

Similarly Rahul Dravid fits in the ad of Castrol as both are consistent and dependable.

Page 16: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

4) Select the communication channels

COMMUNICATION CHANNELS:

A) Personal channels: two or more persons communicating directly with one another- communicate face to face, over phone or through emails.

Page 17: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

B) Non Personal : Media :

1) Print media : (newspapers, magazine

2) Broadcast media:( radio, television)

3) display media:(hoarding, kiosks, billboards, neon signs, posters, banners)

Page 18: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

5) Establishing the total promotion budget

The next important step is how much to spend in promoting the Brand.

The common methods used are Affordable method :

whatever the company can afford to spend in the given financial year. For e.g to promote the brand , probable budget required is Rs. 50 crores, but the company can only afford Rs 15 crores. So the company spends only Rs. 15 crores.

Page 19: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Percentage of sales method : Based on

current or anticipated sales for the year , a fixed percentage is kept for promotion--- thumb rule is 2-12%. For e.g if the anticipated sales is Rs 100 crores, then the company could spent between Rs. 2 crores to Rs 12 crores.

Page 20: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Competitive parity method : spend as per

competition. Thus if LG will spent Rs 50 crores on advertising, Samsung will also spend Rs. 50 crores.

A Company can choose any of the above methods. The most common method is the

Percentage of sales method.

Page 21: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

6) Deciding on Promotion Mix Having decided on the message and the budget,

the next step is deciding the promotion mix. i.e deciding on how much from the total

promotion budget be allocated for advertising, sales promotion, direct marketing,

personal selling and publicity What are the factors that determine the

promotion mix?

Page 22: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Factors in setting the promotion mix:--

a) Type of Product market : Consumer goods:

Advertising is most important followed by sales promotion, personal selling and public relations. E.g for categories like

FMCG products like soap, shampoo, toothpaste , hair oil and also consumer durable category like colour TV, Washing machine etc.

Industrial goods:

Personal selling followed by sales promotion followed by advertising and PR. E.g motors, generators etc.

Page 23: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

b) Push v/s Pull strategy :Push strategy :

involves manufacturer marketing activities( primarily salesforce and trade promotion ) directed at channel partner to induce them to order and carry the product and promote to end users.

Page 24: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Pull strategy:involves marketing

activities (primarily advertising and consumer sales promotion) directed at end users to induce them to ask intermediaries for the product and thus induce the intermediaries to order the product form the manufacturer.

Page 25: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

7) Measuring results: Having done the promotion/advertising, it is

important to see if the campaign had any impact on the consumer.

In other words, was the money spend useful in any way.

The easiest way is to see if the sales have increased after the promotion campaign was launched.

Page 26: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The other ways to Measure impact of promotion on target audience is by asking Target audience ( TA ) the following

1) whether they recall the message 2) how many times they saw the ad 3) how they felt about the message 4) how many bought the product

5) how many liked the product6) how many recommended the product to others etc.

Page 27: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Developing Effective advertising Program

Determine the communication objectives Designing the message Allocate the total promotion budget

In developing an advertising program , marketing managers must always start by identifying the target market and buyer motives .

Page 28: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Then they can proceed to make the 5 major decisions in developing an advertising program knows as 5Ms

Mission : What are the advertising objectives Money : How much can be spend? Message : What message should be sent Media : Which media to be used Measurement : How should the results be

evaluated

Page 29: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Setting the objectives These objectives are based on prior decisions

on target market , positioning and marketing mix.

1)Information Advertising : Figures primarily in the

pioneering stage of a product category , where the objective is to educate the consumer and build demand .

Page 30: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

2)Persuasive advertising : becomes important in the competitive

stage (growth stage) , where the company’s objective is to build selective demand for a particular brand.

3)Reminder advertising : maturity stage --- A related form is reinforcement

ads, which seeks to assure current purchasers that they have made the right choice --- e.g --- Automobile ads often depict satisfied customers enjoying special features of their car.

Page 31: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

2) Deciding on the advertising budget :

1)Stage in PLC : New products receive large

advertising budgets to build awareness and to gain consumer trial . Established brands usually are supported with lower budget as a ratio to sales.--

Thumb rule is 3-12% of sales

2) Deciding on the advertising budget : How much to spend depends on the following

1) Market share and consumer base : High market share brands usually

require less advertising as a percent of sales to maintain their share.

Page 32: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

For e.g Amul doesnot need to advertise heavily for Amul Butter, but it needs to advertise their new range of flavored milk Amul Kool.

To build share through increasing market size requires large advertising expenditures.

Page 33: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

2) Competition and cluster : In a market

with a large number of competitors and high advertising spending , a brand must advertise more heavily to be heard above the noise in the market.

3) Advertising frequency : The number of

repetitions needed to put across the brand’s message to consumers also determines the advertising budget.

4) product Substitutability : brands in a commodity class

(cigarettes, beer, soft drinks, salt etc.) require heavy advertising to establish a differential image.

Page 34: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

3)Deciding on the advertising message :

Advertising campaign differ in their creativity. The effect of the creativity factor in a campaign can be more important than the money spend. Only after gaining attention can a commercial help to increase the brand’s sales

The advertising adage “Until it’s compelling, it isn’t selling” is very true.

Page 35: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Advertisers go through three steps to develop a creative strategy:

a) Message generation: b) Message Evaluation and selection c) Message execution

Page 36: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Message generation : The product’s message should be decided as part of developing

the product concept; it expresses the major benefit that the brand offers.

Creative people use several methods to generate possible advertising appeals--- like talking to consumers, dealers, experts. Consumers are the major source of good ideas.

Their feelings about the strength and shortcomings of existing brands provide important clues to creative strategy.

Page 37: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Message Evaluation and selection : The advertiser needs to evaluate the alternate messages. A good ad normally focuses on one core selling proposition.

Twedt suggested that messages be rated on desirability , exclusiveness and believability

The message must first say something desirable or interesting about the product

The message must also say something exclusive or distinctive that doesn't apply to every brand in the product category

The message must be believable or provable. Next the advertiser must pretest the ads to determine which appeal

has the strongest behavioral impact. e.g Both Fevicol and Asian Paints are perfect examples of the

above points.

Page 38: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Message execution :the message’s impact depends not only

upon what is said but also on how it is said. Some ads aim for rational positioning and others for emotional

positioning Message execution can be decisive for those products that are

highly similar—such as toothpaste, detergents, coffee, salt, vodka , beer. Etc.

In preparing an ad campaign, the advertiser usually prepares a copy strategy statement describing the objective , content and tone of the ad.

Creative people must now find a style, tone , words and format for executing the message. Since few people read body copy , the picture and headline must summarize the selling proposition.

Any message can be presented in different execution style:

Page 39: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

)Slice of life: shows one or more persons using the product in

a normal setting. A family seating at the dinner table might express satisfaction with the new soup brand .

)Lifestyle: how a product fits in with the lifestyle. e.g An ad

for Chivas Regal may show an handsome guy holding a glass of scotch in one hand and steering an yacht in one hand..

)Fantasy :

creates fantasy around the product or its use. Tata Indica’s ad which showed a guy dreaming when he sees a girl – till the marriage sequence. --- Tagline MORE DREAMS PER CAR.

Page 40: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Musical :

This uses background music --- Coca cola’s first ad campaign in India was a musical campaign

)Personality symbol : This creates a character that

personifies the product The character might be animated ( Pillsbury Doughboy, Asian paints- Gattu, Amul’s utterly butterly delicious girl ) or real ( Marlboro man , Onida devil)

)Technical expertise : This shows the company’s

expertise and experience in making the product--- example – a scotch company showing how the scotch is matured for 12 years or a company showing its manufacturing , service setup to indicate expertise.

Page 41: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

)Testimonial Evidence :

This features a highly credible , likeable or expert source endorsing the product--- Amitabh Bachchan endorsing Nerolac Paints ( Hum Keh Rahe Hain) Or Sharukh Khan (LML--- Main Hoon NA)

Page 42: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

) Humour : Humour has long been a popular

technique in ad execution. Humour evokes feelings of amusement

and pleasure and may favourably affect information processing by the target audience.

Some examples of humor are Fevicol, M-seal, etc.

Page 43: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Comparison : comparing features, performance ,

reputation and other characteristics of two or more brands is a popular basis for advertising execution. This approach offers a direct way of communicating a brand’s particular advantages. Sometimes the comparison is made without mentioning the names of competing brands. E.g 1) The ad fights between Thums up and Pepsi

2) The Mountain Dew spoof on Thums up 3) The Pizza hut spoof on Domino’s

Page 44: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Celebrity endorsement as a strategy Choice of celebrity High recognition, high positive effect, and high

appropriateness to the product

e.g Athletes --- beverages, sports apparel, shoes. In India as cricket is the most popular sport, Tendulkar endorses Adidas and Boost

The marketers chief worry in selecting a celebrity is that the additional sales must be more than the cost of hiring the celebrity.

Page 45: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Also the marketer hopes that the celebrity won’t endorse too many products.

e.g—Amitabh Bachchan endorses many brands from Pepsi to Dabur. So the consumer has seen Amitabh in the ad. , but cannot recollect which brand as he endorses too many brands.

An ideal situation is like Aamir Khan –He endorses only Coke, Titan

Also they hope that the celebrity doesn’t get involved in any scandal --- Azharudin, Salman Khan etc.

Page 46: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Advertising agency and its functions.

Advertising Agency : is an independent organization that provides

one or more specialized advertising and promotion related services to assist companies in developing , preparing and executing their advertising and other promotion programmes.

Most companies usually have an advertising agency .

Page 47: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some of the famous advertising agency in India are O& M (Ogilvy and Mather ), Contract, Mudra, FCB-ULKA , Lintas , HTA Equus Red cell Grey Worldwide Madison Everest Enterprise etc.

Page 48: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The agency helps the company in making the ad as per the company’s objectives.

The agency also helps in selecting the right media (press, TV, magazine, hoarding etc.) so that the company’s ads are seen by the target audience.

Page 49: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Account services : This is also known as client servicing.

The personnel in this department are responsible for the relationship between the agency and the client.

The account executive’s job requires high degree of diplomacy and tact as misunderstandings may lead to loss of account.

He/she represents the client by explaining the firm’s point of view to all the agency personnel working on the account and also represents the agency point of view to the client.

Page 50: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The account executive is responsible to help formulate the basic advertising strategy recommended by the agency and obtain the client approval for media schedules, budget , storyboards etc.

For e.g The Fevicol account is handled by O&M. Thus the account executive from O&M handling the Fevicol account, will liaison between the agency and Pidilite (the company which owns the Fevicol brand).

His job is to ensure that Pidilite’s views are explained to O&M. Based on these views the creative personnel at O&M make the appropriate creative (storyboards/copy), and when the creative is approved by Pidilite ,

The copy (for press) or storyboard (for TV) is converted into the final advertisement for Press and TV respectively.

Page 51: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Creative services :

To a large extent , the success of an agency depends on the creative services department responsible for the creation and execution of the advertisements .

The creative specialists are known as copywriters.

They are the ones who conceive the ideas for the ads and write the headlines, the body copy etc.

Page 52: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The creative department, which includes the are director, graphic designers, visualizers prepares the layout and the theme of the ad.

After the creative has been approved by the client (in the above example by Pidilite ) the ad is handed over to the production department who complete the ad.

In case of TV commercial, the production department hires professional like models , directors , independent professional studio for making the ad.

Throughout the making of the ad, the production department supervises the entire aspect to ensure that the final ad matches with the approved creative.

Page 53: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Marketing services:

Media Planning : The responsibility of the agency’s media department is to develop a media plan to reach the target audience effectively in a cost-effective manner.

The media planners select the media that will be used to deliver the ad message.

Media specialists consider the “Reach”, “Frequency”, the target audiences’ media preferences and the rate of the media before actually purchasing the time (TV and Radio) and space.

Page 54: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

For e.g if a car company wants to target the family, the ideal channels to give ads are Star Plus and Sony and the ideal newspapers in urban India are Times of India, Hindustan Times and Hindu.

Of course a very important consideration would be the cost of putting an ad in Star Plus and in Times of India.

Page 55: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Copy decision-creation and production of copy

One of the most important parts of the ad is what is to be said and how it is to be said.

Given the enormous cost of media , and the different types of media , the task of getting into the consumers’ mind in the fastest way is getting difficult day by day.

The creative departments job thus is to give the best possible idea so that the consumer remembers the ad and though the ad the brand.

Page 56: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some of the most memorable ads of recent times have been

Fevicol ads --- Ths USP (Unique selling proposition) of Fevicol is it is long-lasting . Once Fevicol is used to bond to surfaces, the bond lasts very long. Some of their ads were as follows

A man passing by a shop of Fevicol. He goes forward but his shadow gets stuck.

A bus is overloaded with people. But nobody falls down . Behind the bus is the ad of Fevicol. This ad humorously tells the fact that Fevicol is good for bonding and once bonded will stay like that for a very long time.

Page 57: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The recent ad shows milkmen milking cows. Suddenly the van carrying Fevicol arrives. The cows’ milk gets stuck inside the cows (humour).

Orange (Hutch): The message of continuous connectivity was shown with the dog faithfully following the master wherever he goes. This was further reinforced by the statement “ Wherever you go our network follows”

Page 58: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

M-seal: The classic campaign where they showed in the ad, an old man dying and his son wanting to increase the number of zeroes in the will.

But a drop of water falls on will and the will is of no use.

The ad reinforced the fact that if there is leakage in the house, M-SEAL will solve the problem.

Page 59: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some of the companies who advertise on a regular basis on all possible media are

HLL, Dabur, ITC, Pepsi, Coca-cola, Videocon, LG, Samsung , Onida , Maruti Suzuki, TATA, Cadbury, Nestle, Paras Pharmaceuticals , Colgate, P&G etc.

For an advertising campaign to make an impact, four critical elements have to be properly understood so that the advertising strategy can become successful.

Page 60: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The four critical elements of an advertising strategy are

Target audienceProduct and its positioningMediaMessage

Page 61: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The advertising agency and the client must understand and agree to these four elements of advertising strategy before beginning any creative work.

The process begins with the client and the accounts department of the agency sitting together and preparing the “creative Brief”.

Page 62: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The creative brief involves a brief explanation about

the objective of the promotion campaign, the target audience in terms of their educational, income and occupation background and their social lifestyle, the benefits of the product which needs to be communicated to the audience etc.

Based on the creative brief, the creative department then starts the creative process. Their main job is to provide “LIFE” to the creative brief.

The creative department searches for ways to communicate the ideas to the target audience.

Page 63: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Creativity : The word create denotes originating , or conceiving an

idea or a thing that did not exist before. Creativity involves combining previously unconnected

ideas into something new. Creative ads help in breaking the clutter , capture the audience attention and produce considerable impact. The agency D’Arcy , Masius , Benton and Bowles have

developed nine principles to guide its creative efforts .The nine principles are

Page 64: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Does this advertising position the product simply and with unmistakable clarity

Does this advertising bolt the brand to a clinching benefit Does the advertising contain a power idea Does this advertising design in “brand personality? Is this advertising unexpected Is the advertising single-minded Does this advertising reward the prospect Is the advertising visually interesting Does this advertising exhibit painstaking craftsmanship E.g- happydent ad.

Page 65: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Planning Creative Strategy

Depending on the advertising objectives , the creative strategy aims at what must be communicated to the target audience and serves as a guide to developing all the messages to be used in an ad campaign. The creative aspect takes into account the

target audience the problem, the issue or the opportunity that the advertising must

address. The big idea or the USP other important information that needs to be a part of the copy. After determining these factors , the creative strategy statement

should describe the ad appeal and execution style to be used

Page 66: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Copy Platform: The basic components of creative strategy are specified in the written copy platform prepared by the account executive. The copy platform gets the final approval from the client firm’s marketing managers.

A typical copy platform is shown below with a hypothetical example.

Page 67: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Brand ASD Key Information : ASD is a one year old company from Bangalore

manufacturing Mobile Phones.. In oct 2007 , it intends to launch its first model of Mobile phones

Problem the advertising must address: Awareness There is no awareness of the brand ASD among consumers Advertising objective : To achieve 80% awareness for the brand in one year’s time To communicate the low radiation and long lasting battery feature of

the new mobile phone Creative strategy : Prospect Profile : Men and women professionals in the age group 21-40 , urban India

with income above Rs,20000 per month Competition : Brands like Nokia , Samsung etc.

Page 68: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Key promise/USP : High battery life

and low radiation--- so less harmful and more convenient for the busy professional who are health conscious.

Appeal : Rational appeal using slice of life The two components of the copy platform ,

development of the major selling idea and the creative strategy development are the responsibility of the creative specialists and form the basis of the advertising campaign.

Page 69: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The great idea It is very difficult to come up with great ideas in advertising , yet there are

examples of some famous big ideas that have been used to build successful ad campaigns. Some of the examples of famous big ideas are

“Just do it”—Nike “The Taste of India”—Amul “Neighbours envy. Owner’s pride “—Onida Intel Inside—Intel Wherever you go , our network follows—Hutch/Orange “Time Proof Beauty “ and “Har Ghar Kuch Kehta Hai”– Asian Paints Eat Healthy. Think better – Britannia “Ki kare papa, petrol Katam hi nahi hota”—Maruti 800 The Marui campaign showing the service center on the hill. Several approaches have been suggested to guide the creative people to

kindle the inspiration and generate major creative ideas to develop effective advertising.

Page 70: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some of the best known creative approaches used are attributed to David Ogilvy, William Bernbach , Rosser Reeves

David Ogilvy : one of the greatest creative

guys ever in the field of advertising popularized the concept of brand image . He felt that the brand’s image or personality is particularly important when competing brands are similar. He prescribed the following eleven commandments for creating advertising campaigns.

Page 71: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

What you say is more important than how you say it Unless your campaign is built around a great idea , it will

flop Give the facts You cannot bore people into buying. We make

advertisements that people want to read. Be well mannered , but don’t clown Make your advertising contemporary Committees can criticize advertisements , but they

cannot write them If you are lucky enough to write a good advertisement,

repeat it until it stops pulling consumer

Page 72: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Never write an advertisement which you wouldn’t want your family to read. Good products can be sold by honest advertising

The image and the brand: it is the total personality of a brand rather than any trivial product difference, which decides the ultimate position in the market.

Don’t be a copycat. Nobody has ever built a brand by imitating somebody else in advertising.

In many product categories and services, image advertising has become increasingly popular and is used as the main selling idea. Image advertising is used for soft drinks, perfumes, watches, automobiles, clothing etc.

Page 73: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

William Bernbach: He believed that “How the ad

is said is as important as what you say in the ad”. He believed that execution is very important.

He believed in humour and frequently used humour to gain attention of the audience.

Ads created by Bernbach as a part of his agency (Doyle Dane Bernbach) almost always had a large photograph of the product in a setting with a headline and copy below.

The headlines were quite provocative and generated a temptation in the readers to continue to the body copy.

Page 74: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Rosser Reeve: The pioneer of the

concept of Unique Selling Proposition (USP). His approach was to write to create sales rather than for aesthetic appeal.

As per Reeves there are three characteristics of USP Each advertising must make a proposition to the

consumer. Each advertisement must say to each reader:” Buy this product and you will get this benefit “. The best example of this in India is the Maruti ad which talks about mileage.

The proposition must be one that the competition either cannot or doesn’t offer. It must be unique either in the brand or in the claim.

Page 75: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The proposition must be strong enough to move the millions, i.e. pull over new customers to your brand.

The approaches as suggested by David Ogilvy, William Bernbach and Reeves have often been used by creative personnel as the basis of the creative strategy for ad campaigns.

The real challenge is to the creative specialists is to find:”The big idea “ and use it in developing an effective strategy

Page 76: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Creative strategy –Execution and Appeal: Once the creative strategy has been selected, the next

step is to identify the basic appeal. The advertising appeal is the central message to be

used in the ad. The selected appeal should have the power to attract

the attention of consumers, arouse their desires or influence feelings and thus address human wants or needs that can be met by the advertised product, service etc.

How this appeal is turned into an effective advertising message depends on the creative execution style.

Page 77: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

A large number of different appeals can be used as the basis for advertising messages. The two main types of appeals are

Rational/Informational appeals and b) Emotional/ transformational appeals

Rational/informational :

These appeals address the consumer’s self interest and claim that the product will produce particular benefits.

The appeals emphasize product or service features and benefits like quality, convenience, speed, economy, durability, longevity, safety, comfort, service, hygiene etc.

The appeals are generally informative and attempt to convince consumers about the suitability of the advertised product to satisfy their needs because either it is claimed to be the best available or does a better job.

Page 78: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The different types of rational appeals arefeature appealCompetitive advantage appealFavorable price appealNews appealProduct/service popularity appeal

Page 79: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The focus of feature appeals is on the major traits of the product or service.

Such ads are usually rich in information content and communicate to the target audience a number of features that may develop favorable attitudes and influence rational purchases.

Advertisers make use of competitive advantage appeal when they directly compare their brand to other brands in the category and claim superiority on most attributes.

Page 80: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

The major point that dominates favorable price appeal is the attractive price offer.

News appeals are usually used for a new product or service to inform consumers about important improvements or breakthrough new introductions

Popularity of a product or service among large number of consumers becomes the basis of product popularity appeal.

The implied meaning communicated is that wide use of the brand proves that consumers are satisfied with the quality or value of the product and others should use it.

Page 81: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Emotional/transformational Appeals: Emotional Appeals relate to customers’ social and psychological needs and stir up positive or negative emotions that can motivate purchase of a product or service. For many product categories , emotional appeals work better than rational appeal.

Some of the emotional appeals are Love Affection Joy Happiness Excitement Sorrow Grief Pride

Page 82: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Achievement Pleasure Ambition Embarrassment Rejection Recognition envy In most purchase situations, consumer decisions

are based on a combination of both rational and emotional motives. Hence most ad agencies use both emotional and rational appeals.

Page 83: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Advertising execution: After determining the specific advertising appeal that will form the basis for any

message, the creative department starts working on its execution. What is communicated through the ad message and how it is executed is very important to elicit the desired response from the target audience.

There are many ways in which an advertising message can be presented. They are Slice of life Lifestyle Fantasy Animation Humour Fear Demonstration Comparison Testimonial Factual message Scientific or technical evidence

Page 84: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Creative Tactics After determining the creative approach, type of appeal and the style of execution, the

next step is to create the actual advertisement. The design and production process of the ad involves a number of activities , including writing copy, developing illustrations or other visual elements and bringing all elements together to create a memorable ad message.

Creating print Advertising The key format elements in print advertising are Headline: Subheads Body copy Slogans Seals Logos Signatures Visual elements Layout

Page 85: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Headline: refers to words in the leading position of any advt.

These are words that are read first or are positioned with the intent

to draw the readers’ attention. Headlines are normally set in larger, dark type and generally set

apart from body copy to make them prominent. For e.g in the ad of SAMSUNG , PHOD KE DEKHO is the headline Sub heads:

A subhead is an additional , smaller headline that is normally below the main headline.

They are normally smaller then headline but bigger then body copy in terms of size.

They are longer then headline , more like a sentence and serve as stepping stone from headline to body copy.

e.g In the samsung ad--- Gifts worth Rs. 10 crores.

Page 86: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Body copy: The main text portion included in the ad. It

covers the attributes, benefits and utility of the product or service. E.g. In this ad of Samsung , the words from “This festival season” to “aaj hi Phod ke Dekho” comprise the body copy.

Slogans : (themelines/taglines) e.g Nike shoes----“ Just Do It.” .In

the example of Samsung ad --- Samsung Digitall everyone’s invited.

Seals, Logos, Signatures: A seal is awarded when a product meets

standards such as ISI mark or ISO 9000 etc. In the Samsung ad , the Samsung logo Logotypes and signatures :

special designs of the company which needs to be incorporated in the ad.

Page 87: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Visual Elements : Photographs, colour schematics etc. In the Samsung ad , the coconut and other

product photographs. Layout :

is an orderly physical arrangement of headline, subheads, body copy , slogan , logo , signature and the visual elements into a finished advertisement.

Page 88: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

TV COMMERCIAL Television is a powerful medium and has the unique

ability of combining visuals , words , sounds , motion and technology

There are two basic components of a TV commercial: the video and the audio

The video consists of the sight or visual part and the audio part is made up of spoken words , music and other sounds.

These two components must work in a synergetic manner to produce the desired impact.

The visual elements include

Page 89: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Product (e.g Hero Honda bike) The model ( a male riding the bike) Action sequences ( riding the bike in different locations) Comparison (chart showing comparison between various bike brands) Colour Graphics (on the bike) Lighting ( showing the product in different lights) Seasons (visually depicting the different seasons like monsoon, winter etc.) Audio elements: Audio elements include incorporating some or all of the following Music Voices Special sound effects jingles

Page 90: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Media Planning Media planning takes into account all decisions regarding time, place and the type of

media. A media plan outlines how advertising time and space in various media will be used

to achieve marketing objectives of the company through advertising. Media Planning process The media planning process has the following components )Deciding about target market )Deciding about advertising message )Selection of media )cost of media )reach of media )Type of product )Viewing habits of target audience ) Selection of media vehicles: Media class is newspaper, media vehicles can be TOI,

ET etc. )Selection of media schedule )Allocating funds to each media and specific vehicles

Page 91: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some terminologies in media planning

.Media class: This is the type of medium , such as television, radio, newspapers, magazines etc.

.Media vehicles: These provide the immediate environment for the advertisement

for e.g—within the media class of television , there are various media vehicles like Star Plus , Star Movies.

Media option : This is the detailed description of an advertisement’s characteristics other than copy and the artwork used.

It specifies , in addition to the media vehicle , such advertising characteristics as

size (full page or half page), length (10 sec or 30 sec) , colour or B/W , location (inside front cover or interior location)

Page 92: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

.Scheduling and Timing: These specify how media options are scheduled over time .

Among the strategic alternatives are a) Flighting or a burst of advertising alternated with

periods of total inactivity

b) Continuous or even advertising spread evenly throughout the campaign time period

c) pulsing , a continuous base augmented by intermittent bursts of heavy advertising.

Timing Decisions include the selection of specific issues or time slots.

Page 93: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Media class decisionsOne of the most important decisions in media planning, is in which media to give the ads Lets look at each of the important media classes in detail.

Newspaper : This is one of the oldest media class worldwide. In India

there are papers in English i.e Times of India , Hindustan Times , DNA, The Hindu, Deccan Chronicle , Deccan herald , The Telegraph. Also there are various regional language papers like Sakal, Dainik Bhaskar, Gujarat Samachar , Dainik Jagran etc.

Page 94: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Features of newspaper: )every morning people read newspapers in various

languages )Each newspaper these days have variety of sections

namely—sports, news, cinema, etc— )Newspaper are normally read by all family members ) Reach of the newspaper is very high As a company which is deciding which paper to give the

ads , certain factors need to be considered before selecting the media vehicles in newspaper.

Page 95: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Factors influencing selection of a newspaper for advertising---

)reach of the newspaper )Language of newspaper )Fit between the target audience and the paper For example, if the audience is the upper class or middle

class and the product is a car, obviously , ads will be given in English papers like TOI which is read by millions of Indians (reach) .

Also some regional papers may also be considered. Regional brand will advertise in a regional paper only.

Page 96: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Advantages of Newspaper advertising: )High reach among the target audience—mass coverage )Information regarding the features , uses etc of the

product can be given )Last hour insertion and cancellation is possible i.e short

lead time for ad placing )It is one of the most frequently used media by

consumers. Most consumers read newspaper first thing in the morning.

)Low cost of reaching millions. )Low cost of production.

Page 97: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Disadvantages of Newspaper advertising: )Life span is short. ) Products cannot be demonstrated. As the

images are static, unlike TV were the images are dynamic, demonstration is difficult.

)Not suitable for certain products like industrial products like pumps and motors which requires to be given in specific trade journals.

)Poor production quality ) Only visual. No audio can be a part of the ad. TV Advertising

Page 98: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Nowadays most companies give ads on Television in various channels depending on the target audience. Some of the most important channels are Star Plus, Star Movies, Star News, Star One, Star Gold, Pogo, MTV, SONY, ZEE , AajTak, Sahara, ESPN , Ten Sports, DD etc.

Depending on the target audience, the ads are given. For example family products like soap, shampoo,

toothpaste, washing machine etc, the ads are normally given in channels like Star Plus and Sony.

For kid products like toys, clothes , diapers, soap etc, the channels are normally POGO, Hungama etc.

Page 99: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Channels Genre

STAR PLUS DRAMA, FAMILY SERIALS

SONY DRAMA, FAMILY SERIALS

ZEE DRAMA, FAMILY SERIALS

ESPN SPORTS

TEN SPORTS SPORTS

DD SPORTS SPORTS

POGO CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

NICKELODEON CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

HUNGAMA CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

ANIMAX CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

CARTOON NETWORK CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

DISNEY CARTOONS, PROGRAMS FOR KIDS

STAR ONE HUMOUR BASED PROGRAMS

SAB TV HUMOUR BASED PROGRAMS

ZEE SMILE HUMOUR BASED PROGRAMS

STAR NEWS News

NDTV 24*7 News

SAHARA NEWS News

AAJ TAK News

HEADLINES TODAY News

MTV Music

CHANNEL V Music

B4U MUSIC Music

ZEE MUSIC Music

HBO Movies

STAR MOVIES Movies

AASTHA Religion, God, meditation

Page 100: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Advantages of television Advertising)Wide coverage)High reach)Products can be demonstrated)High impact due to audio-visual

combination

Page 101: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Limitations or disadvantages of television advertising

)very costly medium )No flexibility in advertising, as last minute

cancellations or insertions are not possible )Viewers may not be watching the channel when

the ad is broadcasted. )Short span of message life. )High production cost )High clutter, as in the break , many ads are

shown simultaneously.

Page 102: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Magazines Some of the important magazines in India are , India Today,

Sportstar, Femina, Filmfare, The week, Outlook, Business today, Business India, Busienss

World, Woman’s Era etc.

Advantages Of Magazine advertisements )Longevity of message )Potential of focussed segmentation )High information content )Very good production quality

Disadvantages of magazine advertisements )Only visual )Long lead time for ad placing

Page 103: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Radio Some of the important radio channels are Radio City ,

Radio Mirchi, Radio FM 92.5 and AIR (All India Radio) Advantages of radio advertising Very good local coverage Lower cost as compared to press and TV The cost of producing an ad for radio is on the lower side Disadvantages Only audio. Without video some advertisements are not

effective. Message is shortlived

Page 104: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Some terms in Newspaper and Magazine advertising

Circulation -- Number of copies of newspaper or magazines sold.

Readership : Total number of people who read the newspaper or magazine. This figure logically will be higher then circulation as many people read the newspaper/magazine that someone else bought.

Readership is also called “audience”

Page 105: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Cost per Thousand (CPM): It is the cost per thousand audience members.i.e It is the cost of reaching 1000 consumers.

For e.g For The Magazine Reader Digest (Hypothetical example)

The readership of reader Digest= 3000000. Cost of 1 full page ad in B/W is Rs. 10000 Then CPM = 10000/3000000 *1000= 10 i.e== Cost of reaching 1000 people of the

Reader Digest audience is Rs 10.

Page 106: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Reach : The number of different persons /households exposed to a particular media schedule at least once during a specified time period.

Frequency : The number of times within the specified time period that an average person or household is exposed to the message.

Exposure = R * F For e.g from the table given below, we can

calculate the total exposure.

Page 107: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

weeks A B C D E F G H I J K L Total Exposures

1 P P - - P - P P - P - - 6

2 - P P - - - P P - - - - 4

3 P P - - - - - P - P - - 4

4 P P - - P P P - - P -- - 6

- - 20

Survey sample size = 12 households with TV i.e A to LSURVEY PERIOD= 4 WEEKSTV PROGRAMME = P (WEEKLY PROGRAMME) for e.g Star One the program “The Great Indian Laughter challenge” which comes only on Friday from 10.00 P.M to 11.00 P.MTotal exposures= 20Households that watched TV pogramme (reach) = 8. At least 8 households watched the program in the 4 weeks at least once.Frequency = 20/8= 2.5

Page 108: The main steps in developing an effective communication are 1)Identify target audience 2)Determine the communication objectives 3)Designing the message.

Television rating points = Households tuned to a programme/Total households owning a

TV Set in that area For e.g In a area like Mumbai if there 20,00,000

households who own a TV and say 5,00,000 households are watching Jassi Jaisi

Kohi Nahin, then the TELEVISION RATING POINTS (TRP) = 500000/2000000 = .25= 25%= 25 TRP.


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