DIGITAL 101
What You Need To Know
AGENDA
➢Vocab- pull out your pen and paper
➢How does digital work?
➢Digital Display- the Myth the Legend
➢Search Engine Marketing- Great starting point
➢FOMO- Social Media: the need to be informed
➢What you should ask a client
Display Advertising Terminology
❖Inventory = how many impressions of the ad are available through a specific publisher?
❖ Advertiser = The
business that placed
this ad (e.g. Mont
Blanc)
❖ Publisher = Forbes.com❖ Media Agency = works for the
advertiser in designing the ad
(creative), then buying ad
placements (media buying), and
determines ad budget (media
spend)
Brand vs. Demand
• Brand Recall - how many of the consumers who are
surveyed recall your brand with its key attributes.
• e.g. BMW = performance, Toyota = innovation
• Brand Lift - did the display ad campaign increase brand
recall, and by how much
• Engagement - what % of users clicked on the ads, or
engaged with the brand via the ad
• Click-through - visits to the Company's website as a result
of the brand ads
• View-through - users view the ad, and visit your website
directly without clicking on the ad
• E.g. View-through at 9X of click-through the ad.
Brand Marketers
Key Terms
IABInternet Advertising Bureau
(http://www.iab.net)
Today's Internet — sometimes
referred to as “The Cloud”
Millions of people can access your
site at the same time without the site
crashing
Website is the best of its type within
its class — i.e. NIP Radio is the best
CHR Los Angeles
Percentage of available impressions
an advertiser owns during the course
of an ad campaign.
Ads that appear on the page without
having to scroll down
The number of visits and/or visitors
to a website
Web 2.0
or Web2
Scalable
Best In
Class
Share Of
Voice (SOV)
Above the
Fold
Traffic
Interactive mediaRich Media
Also known as Software as a
Service or SaaS using a program
that runs in a web browser i.e.
Salesforce and Google Apps.
Rich Media
Key Terms (Cont.)
CPMCost Per
Thousand
Brand Campaigns
Combined efficiency of an ad
campaign based on promotional
placements, paid placements,
engagement metrics, etc (i.e. video
views, app downloads, widget
distribution, viral video adoption)
Cost/Pay Per Click
"Cost Per" Ads are typically used by
Direct Response and Lead
Generation advertisers and usually
handled by ad networks due to the
continual optimization required to
make these campaigns financially
viable
Used more with social media that
involves video adoption, app/ widget
distribution, game adoptions, etc.
eCPM(Effective CPM )
CPC/PPC
CPL/CPA(Cost Per
Lead/Action)
CPE(Cost Per Engagement
(Social))
Why Is Digital Important
For Businesses?
Comparing the number of years of adoption rate for radio, TV, and the
internet.
It took 38 years for radio to reach 50 million users, 14 years for TV to
reach 50 million users and 4 years for the internet to reach 50 million
users.
Cat Fishing is not only what people do on Social Media it is what businesses do Online everyday.
New Businesses can seem well established and Old businesses can put on a new face and get new customers from a different area. It allows business to try something with little risk.
Categorizing Digital
Advertising
PaidTV Commercial, Web Banner Ad, Paid Search
OwnedWebsite, Blog, Facebook Page
EarnedBlog Mention, Word of Mouth, Buzz
*POEM
Awareness
Education
Consideration
The Purchase
Funnel
Purchase
1. Increase Brand Visibility Impressions & CPM
"plasma tv" Microcenter
2. Drive Qualified TrafficReviews, comparisons, demos "Plasma tv reviews"
3. Generate Leads Newsletter, Email captures, etc. [Sign up for secret offers!]
4. SalesRevenue, orders, ROI, ROAS "Buy 70in 4k Smart LG TV“
Digital Advertising
Payment Models
CPM Cost Per Thousand Impressions
CPC Cost Per Click
CPL Cost Per Lead
CPA Cost Per Acquisition
CPSA Cost Per Social Action
Buying AdsAds are bought in units of:
1. Impressions, in units of 1000 (CPM)
Impression = each view or showing of the ad e.g.
$1 CPM = 1000 impressions for every $1
$2 CPM= 500 impressions for every $1
2. Clicks or Click-throughs, with a cost per
click (CPC)
e.g. $5 CPC = each click on the ad costs $5
3. Leads, with a cost per lead (CPL), sometimes
cost per (user) acquisition (CPA)
Risk shifts from advertiser to publisher as we
go from CPM -> CPC -> CPL/ CPA
Banner AdsText-Based
Image-Based Multimedia
Banner Ads
Ad Sizes
There are many standard sizes defined by the Interactive
Advertising Bureau (IAB):
Leaderboard(728x90) = 728 pixels wide, 90 pixels high
Medium rectangle(300x250) most available inventory
across ad sizes
Other common sizes 300x600 160x600180x 150
Mobile ad sizes (iPhones, Androids, iPads) 468x50 300x50 320x50
Online Media Targeting
Behavioral Targeting - uses information collected on an individual's web-browsing behavior, such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made, to select which advertisements to display to that individual.
Geo Targeting — the
ability to target a specific
geographic area based on
a consumer's IP address.
Demo Targeting — targeting to a consumer based on their age and
gender.
Contextual Targeting —
targeting ads based on a
website’s content — i.e. a Betty
Crocker ad appears in AOL
Food.
Many Targeted
Ads come is tags
to let the
consumer know
they have been
targeted
Geo- Fenced Ads or Geo Target are not typically tagged
Tags
A/B Testing
Poll/Offer Version 1 Poll/Offer Version 2
A/B Testing - running different versions of the ads
(brand or demand) to test which messages and
offers resonate the most with the audience, and
drive the highest results (i.e. lead conversions)
In-Banner Lead Forms-
New way to Increase Conversions
Demand Generation
Terms
Demand Marketers
Conversion - turning an unknown user into a known prospect (first name, last name, email, company, etc.)
Landing Pages - where conversions typically happen today
user clicks on a flat ad, then redirected to the landing page in a new browser window.
Banner Ad
Landing Page
New Prospective vs.
Retargeting
New Prospecting Prospects NOT already in the advertiser's database. Reach new 'Watering holes" and place ads to attract new prospects, get them to opt-in into further conversation.
Re-targeting Already a bit familiar with the brand. Visited your site and bounced. Conversion rates for re-targeting = typically higher than for new prospecting.
How Retargeting Works
Putting Together A
Display Campaign
Define the goal - Brand awareness? Demand creation?
Both?
Target audience - Persona(s)? Buyer needs messaged via
the ad?
Budget - finalize number based on goals re: brand — reach,
engaged, or demand — leads
Placement - targeting, media buying. In-house, outsource?
Creative - copy, design, messaging, content offers, brand
guidelines
Execute & Review - analytics, reporting, key metrics
Campaign Management —
• Targeting - update sites, audience segments, etc. based
on what works
• Bid Management — set bid prices to meet volume goals
(daily/weekly)
• Creative updates - changes in mid-flight based on / lead
capture metrics
Metrics & Measurement
Impressions & Clicks • CTR — click through rate
• How many of my ads got clicks?
• Clicks/impressions
Return• Conversion Rate
• Revenue
• ROAS
• ROI
SEM/PPCGoals: Leads
Paid
Google My
BusinessGoals: Leads
Organic
SEOGoals: Leads
Organic
SEM/PPCGoals: Leads
Paid
Social
Media
Networks
• YouTube
• Linkedln
• Foursquare
• Google+
There are about 400
Social or sharing sites out
there with a more than 10
thousand users.
Social Media Myths
• It's Free
• It's Fast
• It's Viral
• You Can't Measure it
• It's Optional
• It's Hard
900 Million Users
You Can Target By:
• Demographics: Location, Language, Education, and Work Age, Gender, Birthday, and Relationship Status
• Likes & Interests: Select Likes & Interests such as "camping", "hiking", or backpacking" instead of "tents" or "campers"
• Connections
Polls
Targeted
Leads
Blended CPM of $20 which is a mix of 60% News Feed and
40% Right Rails
News Feed is the most popular and most expense as you can
not see Right Rails on a Mobile Phone
News Feed Right Rails
You Can Target By:
• Demographics: Location,
Language, Education
• Age, Gender, Birthday, and
Relationship Status
• Likes & Interests:
• Select Likes & Interests such
as "camping", "hiking", or
backpacking" instead of
"tents" or "campers"
• Connections
• Instagram is a mobile,
desktop, and Internet-based
photo-sharing application
and service that allows users
to share pictures and videos
either publicly, or privately to
pre-approved followers
Purchased by Facebook in 2012
You Can Target By: Demographics: Location,
Language, Education,
Company, Age, Title
Different Levels of Advertising
•Pre-rolls
•Ads appear before the content
•Best performance
•Mid-rolls
•Ads appear during content
•Many marketers wary of interrupting
•Post rolls
•Ads appear after content
•Perform at 40% level compared to pre-roll
Houzz is a website and online
community about architecture,
interior design and decorating,
landscape design and home
improvement. • 1.5 Million Local
Professionals
• 25 Million Monthly
Unique Visitors
• Over 11 Million Photos
• Over 9 Million Products
• 72% of users between
25-54
• 90% of all Users own a
Home
• 60 Professional
Categories on Houzz
40 Million Users
Social Media Best Practices
Set Goals
Create a Plan
and Content
Strategy and
Stick to it!
Track Growth
Monitor what
is being said
regarding your
company
online
Listen to
others in the
community,
don't just talk
Communicate
with your
clients in the
way that they
prefer
Defining Goals for Digital Advertising
Awareness
Education
Consideration
Purchase
• Location
• Language
• Education
• Work
• Age
• Gender
Think about the people who you want to see your ads
• Birthday
• Relationship Status
• HIH
• Groups
• Likes
• Friends