Open up new revenue streams with Display and Facebook advertising, Retargeting

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5 Ways Display, Facebook Ads & Remarketing Will Open New Revenue Streams

By Benoît Gaillard, WSI - Switzerland

ABOUT WSI Global Leader in Digital Marketing Global Knowledge. Local Results.

©2014 WSI. All rights reserved.

•  Provide advanced digital marketing solutions •  Businesses of all sizes and industries •  World’s largest network of Internet Consultants •  Service more than 80

countries internationally •  Industry winning solutions •  Corporate head office

in Toronto, Canada

ABOUT THE PRESENTER

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P R O F E S S I O N A L B A C K G R O U N D

•  FMCG Brand Management

•  P&G, Coca-Cola/Nestlé

R E C E N T P U B L I C A T I O N S & A W A R D S

•  Digital Minds – Display and retargeting chapters

•  Facebook Smart Advertising

M E M B E R S H I P S & C E R T I F I C A T I O N S

•  WSI Top Gun

/WSIBusinessPerformance

ch.linkedin.com/in/gaillardinternetmarketing

Why Should I Worry About Display

“99% of our top 1,000 clients are now running campaigns on the Google Display Network and YouTube.” Google Benchmarks and Insights)

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Why Should I Worry About Display

• 80% of time spent on line

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Search 5%

Commerce 14%

Communication (Email & IM)

27%

Social (community)

12%

Surf (content) 42%

SURF

SEARCH

SOCIAL

Is Facebook The New Google For Your Business?

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Open Up New Revenue Streams

•  Support your prospect throughout the purchase decision cycle

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Awareness

• Increase visibility • Targeted advertising

Compare

• Remain top of mind • Communicate USP

Purchase

• Advertise a deal • Personalized advertising

Display You Say?

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Display Placement Opportunities

• Banners on websites • Gmail • Blogger • YouTube •  Facebook • Yahoo

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Display Format Opportunities

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Display banners: visual, text, video

Display Format : YouTube

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Before videos Beside videos

Beside videos

In the search results

In the search results

Display Format: Facebook

•  Facebook

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Display Format: Mobile

• More creativity leveraging geolocation, native app functionality, smartphone features

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5 Ways To Open Up New Revenue Streams!

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1. Trigger Impulse Purchase

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Product And Services That Are Not Searched For

• All men use razors, few search for it • How do you get your innovation across?

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Why Should I Give You A Click? It Is Not About The Features!

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Thanks to adespresso.com for bringing this thought to life!

Connect Emotionally

•  ‘deep human drivers’ model

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Connect emotionally

§

Pleasure of falling asleep in freshly cut grass

BBQ with friends this week. Welcome them with a perfect grass

Insure your grass is always impeccable

Your neighbour will be jealous of your perfect grass

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BBQ this weekend? No worry, Miimo takes care of me!

2. Display Retargeting Increases ROI Of Search

Do you spend on Google AdWords? You should spend on display retargeting!

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Easier To Bring Back A Visitor Than To Attract A New Visitor

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100 visits

5 customers 95 still thinking

Banners Facebook

Increase your search PPC ROI by > 40%!

•  Focus on acquisition ROI 1:1 •  Spend to acquire new visits: 100 visits + 1$ per click =

100$ •  5% of visitors convert = 5 sales = 5*20$ profit = 100$

profit = breakeven

• Add retargeting ROI 1:2 •  95% of visitors leave the website but keep on surfing

comparing offers •  Bring 10% of them back for a fraction of the cost = 10

visitors * 2$/click = 25$ •  Convert 20% of visitors your brought back = 2 sales =

2*20$ = 40$ profit

• ROI total 1:1.4

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3. Advertise To Audiences / Personas Real-Time Bidding (RTB)

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Why Is The Traditional Display Model Broken?

•  For advertisers: buy all impressions at the same price independently from the value of the user targeted

•  For large publishers: up to 70% of website inventory is not sold, 30% sold on ‘premium’

•  For small publishers: no market place to sell their quality thematic inventory

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The RTB revolution

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The RTB revolution

•  For advertisers: •  Buy impressions based on the value of a given

audience •  Increase your reach •  Better control of frequency •  Better CPM •  Personalization of message

•  For publishers: •  Maximize use of their inventory •  Always sell to the best price offered

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Acquisition 3rd Party Data

Engagement score

STUDY

INCOME

LIFESTYLE

HOBBY

ADULT 25-45

TARGETED AUDIENCE

DATA SOURCE

MARKET INTEREST

DEMOGRAPHIC DATA

BUYING INTENTIONS

AUDIENCE PROVIDER

LOOK-A-LIKE

Nouveaux visiteurs

Acquisition Targeting

ANALYZE KEYWORDS ON TARGET LANDING PAGE

Leverage your search insights for display! •  Focus •  Exclusion

Nouveaux visiteurs

Acquisition Targeting By Category (Ron)

RON

YOUR TARGET INTERESTS

SPORT

TRAVEL ART

MATCH WITH WEBSITE THEMATIC

Be Relevant!

Your Site

Geo-localized Advertising

Advertise to mobile users within 5km of grill truck

Mobile app guides you to the nearest grill truck

Case Study: Retargeting + RTB + Facebook

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Jewelry Online Sales

Retargeting RTB: Facebook Ad Exchange vs. Ron

106 -54% +184%

1CHF invested

CPM Conversion rate

‘Those strong results drove increased spending online for year-end sales.’

4. Think Visual First! Insert Section Header Sub-Title Here

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Picture Connects On Mobile

• 66% of social media usage happens on mobile

• Communicate in 5x10 • You scan vs. read a

facebook/linkedin feed on mobile

• Pictures are the trigger to stop, engage

Picture Marketing Examples Slimming

Winner!

Picture Marketing Jewelry

Winner: laptop

Winner: mobile

Picture Marketing: Execution Matters

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If you had invested 6000$ on one of those visuals, you would have achieved:

Nb of fans Nb of social actions

Picture Marketing - eCommerce

• Back to basics – show the product, show the offer

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GOOD BETTER NOT GOOD

5. Stay Ahead Of Competition

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Facebook Smart Advertising

bit.ly/Facebook-advertising

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Conversion Attribution

PAID SEARCH ORGANIC SEARCH DISPLAY REMARKETING SOCIAL SEM Hors-Marque SEM Marque DISPLAY REMARKETING SOCIAL

EXPOSITIONS

1ère 2ème 3ème 4èm

e 5ème Dernière SCORE EXP. CONV CA

PANIER MOYEN LATENCE

24

47

11

31

29

52

33

30

41 5

2

5

5

2

2

1

1

1 32621

31954

27306

8262

8158

7047

4706

4448

4258

15.8%

15.5%

13.2%

4.0%

3.9%

3.4%

2.3%

2.1%

2.0%

€15,574,287

€5,623,525

€8,082,003

€2,809,245

€1,691,747

€1,574,267

€903,684

€840,784

€811,950 €197

€203

€194

€223

€207

€340

€205

€252

€477 0.56

0.53

0.50

1.76

0.64

1.88

4.22

2.12

1.56

% TOTAL CONV.

INVEST BASED ON FIRST OR LAST CLICK? WHICH KPI TO ASSESS ROI?

Smart Retargeting – Measure Engagement

45

43% Produit A

30% Produit B

27% Produit C

TIME SPENT

VALUE

FREQUENCY

REFERRAL

CRM

PAGE VIEWS

850 SCORE

Smart Remarketing – Dynamic CPM

46

Engagement score

BID: €3

BID: €2,1

BID: €1

690 SCORE

735 SCORE

850 SCORE

Cross Device Tracking

• No cookie on Mobile devices • Yet more and more search and surf on

mobile • Use predictive tracking and master Id

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Marketing Automation

• Personalize advertising banner • Personalize website offers •  Trigger emails based on website behavior

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How Can WSI Help?

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Plan Display Strategically

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Create Ads, Purchase Media, Optimize Bidding, Consolidate Reporting

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Are You Spending $ On Google AdWords? You Should Be Spending On Display!

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QUESTIONS & ANSWERS

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WE WROTE THE BOOK ON THIS

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• Get Your Copy!

http://bit.ly/WSIDigitalMindsBook

THANKS FOR ATTENDING!

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