• Overview of Google Adwords• In‐depth look at the benefits of
Google Adwords• How to optimize a Google Adwords campaign• How a nonprofit can use Google Adwords most
effectively• Giveaway• Questions
Agenda
• Organic Search– Search results pages that appear because of their
relevance to the search terms• Paid Search
– Paid ads that appear because of their relevance to the search terms
Organic search vs. paid search
• Ads show up on sites that are related to your product or services
• Examples– Weather.com– CNN– USA Today– Fox News– Ask.com
Adwords is not just on Google
• Create all types of ads ‐ text, image, interactive and video ads.
• Place those ads on websites that are relevant to what you’re selling.
• Show those ads to the people that are likely to be most interested.
• Manage and track your budget, campaigns and results as you go.
Google Display Network
• You search a keyword• Google looks through all of the websites it has
indexed and looks for the ones most relevant to the search terms
• Google displays ads related to the searched terms at the top and side of the search results pages– Gives you visibility even if your website is not in the top
results
How does Adwords work?
• Increase visibility• Drive traffic to your website• Targeting based on location
– Geotargeting• Ads only appear when people in the designated area search for you
• Low‐cost target marketing
How can Adwords Help?
• Determining the geolocation of a website visitor and delivering different content to that visitor based on his or her location, such as country, region/state, city, metro code/zip code, organization, IP address, ISP or other criteria
Geotargeting
• Text Ads– Headline– Description– Description– Link to site
• Display URL– What website they will be taking to when they click
• Destination URL– The actual landing page for the ad
– Keywords associated with the ad• 15 to 30 keywords related to the ad
What are ads?
• Words or phrases that are relevant to your product or services
• Examples– Group Family Counseling– Family Counseling– Counseling
What are keywords?
• Structure your Adwords account• Choose the right keywords• Write attention grabbing ads• Select the right landing page• Track who became your customer
Optimizing a Google Adwords campaign
Account
Campaign
Ad GroupsAds
Keywords
Campaign
Ad GroupsAds
Keywords
Campaign
Ad GroupsAds
Keywords
Structure your Adwords account
• Grouping your keywords with ads• Examples
– Keywords related to a product you sell– The ad is about the product
Structure your Adwords account
• Choose keywords that are 2‐3 words long– Balance between being too general and too specific
• Use more specific keywords related to your product or services– More generic keywords often come with a higher bid cost
and will not drive quality leads to your site– Specific keywords offer lower bid costs and target
customers that are looking for your product or service• Use the keyword tool to find relevant keywords
– Use to provide relevant keywords about your business, it provides you with related ideas
Choose the right keywords
• Automatically runs your ads on relevant variations of your keywords, including synonyms, singular and plural forms, possible misspellings, stemmings (such as floor and flooring), related searches, and other relevant variations.
Broad Match (default)
• Your ad can appear when people search for your exact phrase, even if they include one or more words before or after it.
• Will also show your ad when someone searches for a close variant of your phrase match keyword.
• Close variants include misspellings, singular and plural forms, acronyms, stemmings (such as floor and flooring), abbreviations, and accents.
• Word order is important with phrase match, meaning that your ad won’t appear if someone enters an additional word in the middle of your keyword.
Phrase Match
• Your ads will appear when someone searches for your exact keyword, without any additional words before, after, or in the middle of your keyword.
• Will also show your ad when someone searches for close variants of your keyword. Close variants include misspellings, singular and plural forms, acronyms, stemmings (such as floor and flooring), abbreviations, and accents.
Exact Match
• Should speak to what your potential customer is looking for
• Give a small taste as to what you can offer your customer
• Why should someone come and visit your website• Include a call to action
– What do you want them to do next
Write attention grabbing ads
• Could be your home page or a specific page on the site
• Landing page should be relevant to your ad – If you are advertising a seminar you are putting on, the
landing page should be about the seminar
Select the right landing page
• 1 hour consultation with me on Google Ad words
• Place your business card in the hat• Will draw a winner after questions
Giveaway
• Define your ad words goals• Budgeting
– Monitor and adjust bids• Reporting
– What to monitor closely– Quality Score
• Spend the time monitoring and managing
How a nonprofit can use Google Adwords most effectively
• What are you trying to achieve with your adwords?– Drive traffic to website or physical site– Newsletter subscriptions– Seminar registrations– Products sold– Inquiries– Traffic to your Facebook page
Define your ad words goals
• Develop a budget for your campaign• Decide what is the maximum amount you want to
pay daily• Monitor and adjust bids
– Value relative to costs– When a specific ad brings in a high number of clicks that
convert, increase the bid of the ad– Reduce bids on ads that are not performing
• You only pay when someone clicks on your ad
Budgeting
• Status• Clicks
– A click is when a user interacts with your ad by clicking on it.
– Why it matters: Clicks can help you understand how well your ad appeals to people who see it.
– If you know how many people are clicking your ads relative to how many people are seeing them (impressions), you can gauge the success of your ads.
Reporting
– Impressions indicate how often your ad has appeared on a search results page or website on the Google Network.
– Why it matters: Understand how often you're communicating your message. You can gauge your ad's potential to drive more traffic to your site by comparing the number of impressions it receives to its click through rate.
Impressions
– Click through rate (CTR) is the number of clicks your ad receives divided by the number of times your ad is shown.
– What it is: CTR represents how often people click your ad after it's shown to them:
– CTR=Clicks on your ads– Impressions (how often ad appears)– Example: If you have five clicks and 1000 impressions,
then your CTR is 0.5%.
CTR (Click through rate)
– Average cost‐per‐click (CPC) is the average amount that you've been charged for a click on your ad.
– What it is: This amount is the total cost of all clicks divided by the total number of clicks received.
– What it isn't: Average CPC isn't the same thing as maximum CPC ‐‐ that's the most you're willing to pay for a click on your ad. You won't be charged more for a single click than the maximum CPC that you set.
– Example: If your ad receives two clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.
Ave. CPC (Cost per click)
– Controlling costs: Set an average daily budget you're comfortable with at the campaign level, then bid at the keyword and ad group level to guide how your budget is spent.
Cost
• Average position helps explain where your ad ranks compared to other ads.
• Why it matters: This metric shows your ad's position relative to those of other advertisers.
Average position
• Relevant to the words people search for• Did people find your ad relevant and click on it• Quality of your landing page• Quality score of 1‐10
– 10 being the highest– 1 being the lowest
• Quality score plays a role in your ads position and how much you pay for the ad
Quality Score
• Every time someone does a search that triggers your ad, Google calculates a Quality Score.
• To calculate this Quality Score, Google looks at a number of different things related to your account.
How does Google calculate Quality Score
• Your keyword's expected click through rate (CTR): The expected CTR is based in part on the keyword's past CTR, or how often that keyword led to clicks on your ad
• Your display URL's past CTR: How often you received clicks with your display URL
• Your account history: The overall CTR of all the ads and keywords in your account
• The quality of your landing page: How relevant, transparent, and easy‐to‐navigate your page is
• Your keyword/ad relevance: How relevant your keyword is to your ads
How does Google calculate Quality Score
• Your keyword/search relevance: How relevant your keyword is to what a customer searches for
• Geographic performance: How successful your account has been in the regions you're targeting
• Your ad's performance on a site: How well your ad's been doing on this and similar sites (if you're targeting the Display Network)
• Your targeted devices: How well your ads have been performing on different types of devices, like desktops/laptops, mobile devices, and tablets – you get different Quality Scores for different types of devices
How does Google calculate Quality Score
• Spend 10 minutes a day• Designate a staff member to monitor
your account• Letting it run on autopilot can have
adverse effects
Spend the time monitoring and managing
• Nonprofit edition of AdWords, Google's online advertising tool
• Google Ad Grants empowers nonprofit organizations, through $10,000 per month in in‐kind AdWords™ advertising, to promote their missions and initiatives on Google search result pages
• http://www.google.com/nonprofits/
Google Grants