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Measuring Social Media ROI

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Paul Gillin presentation from Terametric Social Media ROI webinar, September 8, 2011
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Twitter: @pgillin Paul Gillin, Author The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer Social Media ROI:Yes You Social Media ROI:Yes You Can! Can!
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Page 1: Measuring Social Media ROI

Twitter: @pgillin

Paul Gillin, Author

The New Influencers

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Social Media ROI:Yes You Can!Social Media ROI:Yes You Can!

Page 2: Measuring Social Media ROI

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Page 2Twitter: @pgillin

It’s Simple, Knucklehead

ROI = COST OF INVESTMENT

(GAIN FROM INVESTMENT - COST OF INVESTMENT)

Page 3: Measuring Social Media ROI

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Page 3Twitter: @pgillin

Return on InvestmentOrRisk of Inaction?

Page 4: Measuring Social Media ROI

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Page 4Twitter: @pgillin

Types Of Financial Impact

A. Revenue B. Costs Avoided

Anything that leads to A or B,But only if you can directly

equate its value to an action

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Page 5Twitter: @pgillin

These are NOT ROI

Website Visitors

Click-throughs

Store visits

Press coverage

“Buzz”

Employment applications

Retweets

FaceBook friends

Blog comments

Video views

Twitter followers

Impressions

Friends

Coupons distributed

But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!

Page 6: Measuring Social Media ROI

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Page 6Twitter: @pgillin

Reconsider Customer Segments

How Best Buy segments its customers

High

Low

High Low

Lea

ding

-Ed

ge T

echn

olo

gy

Price Sensitivity

Enthusiasts

Online Aficianados

Practicals

Ambivalent Aspirers

Deal Drivers

Who are your high-value customers?

Page 7: Measuring Social Media ROI

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Page 7Twitter: @pgillin

Start With the Business

Business Goal

Measurement

Tactics Tools

Generate 30% More

Leads

Publish Six New White Papers

Initiate Monthly Webcasts

Sponsor Microsite on TechTarget

Build Targeted Twitter List (500)

Dedicated Monthly E-mail Blast

Promote To Trade Publications

List in Tech Directories

Hire Tech Freelancers

List Rentals Create CoTweet

Account Increase PR

Budget Hire E-mail

Marketing Firm Initiate Blogger

Relations Program

Increase Webcast/White Paper Reg’s by 60%

Increase Traffic to WP Landing Pages 120%

Increase 800-Number Calls by 80%

Review and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and Revise

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Page 8Twitter: @pgillin

Stagger Activities

White Paper Promotion Timeline

Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Home page link

E-mail newsletter

E-mail blast

Blog promotion

Twitter messaging

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Page 9Twitter: @pgillin

Look for Impact

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Page 10Twitter: @pgillin

Basic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin

Conversion Rate = New Customers/ Visits or Leads

Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value

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Page 11Twitter: @pgillin

OK, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you

Curly is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Curly is($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

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Page 12Twitter: @pgillin

CRM Essentials

Must be used by everyone who touches the customer

Must document online, offline and landline communications

Must span the engagement lifecycle

Must enable segmentation and grouping

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Page 13Twitter: @pgillin

Web Analytics

Must track individual visitors

Must document paths to desired destinations

Must identify referring sources

You must use them

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Page 14Twitter: @pgillin

Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors 10,000

Conversion Rate .5%

Lifetime Value $5,000Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000

Value of a Visitor $25

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Page 15Twitter: @pgillin

Value of a Blog

Monthly Search Traffic 3,000

Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000

Value of a Visitor $25

Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000

Monthly Blog Expense $6,000

ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000 316%

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Page 16Twitter: @pgillin

Value of Twitter

You send 50 tweets a month… Generating 1,000 visitors to

your website… 2% of whom become leads… 5% of whom become

customers.

Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

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Page 17Twitter: @pgillin

Value of a Community

You want to launch a customer support forum to reduce your costs of telephone supportEstimated admin costs: ½ FTE yr 1, ¼ FTE yr 2 1/10 FTE yr 3Estimated savings: 1 FTE yr 1, 1.5 FTE yr 2, 2 FTE yr 3

Year Item Annual Cumulative

1

Forum Administrative costs $ 35,000 $ 35,000

Savings $ 70,000 $ 70,000

ROI 100% 100%

2

Forum Administrative costs $ 17,500 $ 52,500

Savings $ 105,000 $ 175,000

ROI 500% 233%

3

Forum Administrative costs $ 7,000 $ 59,500

Savings $ 140,000 $ 315,000

ROI 1900% 429%

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Page 18Twitter: @pgillin

Measuring the Immeasurable

Lift Studies

Store visits

Headline Counts

Employment applications

Speaking Invitations

Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed

If You Can Measure It, You Can Calculate Its ROI

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Page 19Twitter: @pgillin

Thank you!

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin

Free bi-weekly newsletter; sign up at gillin.com


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