+ All Categories
Home > Social Media > Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Date post: 16-Jan-2017
Category:
Upload: jen-jamar
View: 97 times
Download: 0 times
Share this document with a friend
51
Transcript
Page 1: Measuring the ROI of Social Media
Page 2: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Image: Rachel Chapdelaine on Flickr

Page 3: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Marketing Measurement Has Come A Long Way

Page 4: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

The Old WaySpray & pray

Fuzzy picture of what success looked like

Unsure which marketing tactics contributed to which outcomes

Page 5: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Started Getting Smarter

Coupon redemption codes

Customer reviews & ratings

Page 6: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Now We’re Talkin’Link Shorteners & UTM Codes

Goal Completion

Conversions

Assisted Attribution Models

Page 7: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

-Bernard Baruch

“If all you have is a hammer in the toolbox, everything

looks like a nail.”

Page 8: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Return On Investment (ROI)

“A performance measure used to evaluate the efficiency of an investment or to compare the

efficiency of a number of different investments.”

-Investopedia Definition

Page 9: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Social Media ROI

The quantitative measurement of social media marketing in terms of tangible results (results) relative

to the cost (investment).

Page 10: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Two Basic Formulas

Page 11: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

ROI - Return On Investment

(Benefit - Cost) x 100——————————

Cost

Page 12: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

ROMI - Return on Marketing Investment

Incremental Revenue—————————

Marketing Cost

Page 13: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

If the formula is so easy…

Why do we still struggle to measure social media ROI?

Page 14: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Vanity Metrics & Other General Fuzziness

• Likes

• RTs

• Awareness

• Conversations

• Multiple touchpoints

• Influencer, well, influence

Page 15: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Where’s my easy button?

Page 16: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

There is no easy button.

Page 17: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

The Basic Process1. Choose your goals

2. Track your goals

3. Assign monetary value

4. Measure results

5. Calculate costs

6. Analyze & improve

Page 18: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Understand Your Sales Funnel

To accurately measure social media ROI, we have to understand our sales funnel and our business goals.

Page 19: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

McKinsey & Company

Page 20: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Buffer

Page 21: Measuring the ROI of Social Media
Page 22: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Possible Conversion Goals

• Make a purchase

• Watch a video

• Register for a webinar

• Click on a link

• Sign up for a newsletter

• Download a white paper

Page 23: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Other Types of Goals

• Brand Awareness & Recognition

• Customer/User Loyalty

• Traffic

Page 24: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Assigning $$ Values: Three Methods

Page 25: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Method #1: Guesstimate

If you don’t have historical data to analyze, you’ve got to start somewhere.

Page 26: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Method #2: Correlation

Compare your baseline to your social media activities and look for correlation.

Page 27: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Establish Your Baseline

What would happen anyway even if you don’t invest in social?

Page 28: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Timeline Your Social Activities

• July 15th: Launched Facebook Page

• July 20th: Launched Twitter Account

• July 25th: First Facebook Ad Campaign

Page 29: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Overlay, Analyze, & Prove/Disprove

Note any apparent correlations

Investigate to prove or disprove if they are related

Don’t forget to check for non-social influences

Page 30: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Draw Data-Driven Conclusions

Example: During the month of July, we saw a 10% increase in new visitors to our landing page. Accounting for our 5% baseline estimate for increased organic traffic, we can attribute the remaining 5% lift to our Facebook advertising campaign.

Page 31: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Method #3: Use Past Values

Use existing data to calculate the value of your social media ROI.

Page 32: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

LTV: Lifetime Value

If you know your LTV, you can work backwards to determine your conversion value.

Example: Puppy Dewormer

Page 33: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Other Measurements You Can Calculate

Page 34: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Conversion RateNumber of checkouts / Number of unique visitors

(within same time period) 100,000 visitors

2,000 checkouts

2% Conversion Rate

Page 35: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Average Order ValueTotal revenue/Number of Checkouts

$20,000 revenue

2,000 checkouts

$10 Average Order Value

Page 36: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Average Visitor ValueNew revenue generated / Number of website visitors

$20,000 new revenue in July

100,000 total visitors

$20,000 / 100,000 = $0.20 per visitor

Page 37: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Calculations By Activity/Channel

Using overall site values can only get us so far.

Segmenting social channels, campaigns, and audiences provides far more accurate data for ROI calculations.

Page 38: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Use Your Calculations to Assign Value to Results

Page 39: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Measure Results By Channel

Channel Clicks to Site Value (Return)*

Facebook 2000 400

Twitter 1500 300

Instagram 500 100

*Clicks x Average Visitor Value of $0.20

Page 40: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Image: Mykl Roventine on Flickr

Page 41: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Calculate All Costs• Time/Resources/Personnel

• Fixed Costs (Tools, Ongoing Maintenance)

• Variable Costs (Social Campaigns, Integrated Campaigns)

• Management/Oversite

Page 42: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Calculate ROIIf you spent $1000 on a Facebook campaign (total cost) and it

resulted in 1,000 new visits, what was the campaign ROI?

In our previous example, we know that each new visit is worth $0.20.

1,000 * $0.20 = $2,000

$2,000 / $1,000 = 100%

Page 43: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Calculate ROMI• Facebook ad campaign cost: $1000 (ad spend + labor)

• July revenue: $50,000

• Incremental Revenue: $2,500 ($50K x 5%)

• ROMI: 250% ($2,500/$1,000)

Page 44: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Creating a Measurable Social Media Strategy

Page 45: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Who > Why > What > How• Scope: Who’s involved?

• Business Objectives & Purpose: Why are we doing this?

• Goals & KPIs: What are we trying to accomplish?

• Tactics & Metrics: How are we getting sh*t done?

Page 46: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Who’s (Potentially) Involved

• Marketing

• Sales

• R&D

• Customer Service

• Human Resources

• Technical Support

Page 47: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Why Do These Folks Care?

Customer Service Sales Marketing

Reduce call volume Increase qualified leads Improve brand image

Because social media can help each department meet their business goals!

Page 48: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Turning Business Goals Into Social Media Goals

Customer Service Sales Marketing

Reduce call volume Increase qualified leads Improve brand image

Resolve social media support & customer service inquiries

Drive new visitors to targeted landing pages

Identify and recruit brand advocates to build our image

Page 49: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Every Objective Needs A KPI

Customer Service Sales Marketing

Reduce call volume Increase qualified leads Improve brand image

Resolve social media support & customer service inquiries

Drive new visitors to targeted landing pages

Identify and recruit brand advocates to build our image

# of posts/tweets resolved # of conversions from social media channels

Reach and frequency of influencer-generated content

Page 50: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Value-Driven Social Media Marketing

Now when your boss asks “How’s that Facebook stuff doing?” you have the tools to demonstrate

tangible benefits to the company.

Page 51: Measuring the ROI of Social Media

Questions?@jenjamar

[email protected]


Recommended