Home >Travel >Jiang Guo Fang1

Jiang Guo Fang1

Date post:19-Aug-2015
View:932 times
Download:4 times
Share this document with a friend
  1. 1. http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/michaelasanda-1472589-jiang-guo-fang1/
  2. 2. Jiang Guo Fang was born in 1951. As a young man he was influenced by theCultural Revolution and studied oil painting until 1978 at the ChineseNational Academy of Fine Arts. After his graduation he initially startedteaching and later assumed a professorship at the art department of theCentral Institute of Drama in Beijing. Today Jiang Guo Fang is regarded asone of Chinas most significant contemporary artists.The Forbidden City in Beijing is a symbol of China as only the Great Wallcan be. Here ruled the last emperor of the Quing Dynasty (1644-1911), thelast dynasty which followed after Ming (1368-1644). In 1405 emperor Yongleof the Ming Dynasty moved the capital of the Chinese empire from Nankingto Beijing. Between 1407 and 1420 the construction of the monumentalpalace began. The area with its hundreds of palaces and thousands of roomsis the embodiment of the many thousand years old Chinese civilisation andculture.Jiang Guo Fang is an artist who displays great courage in art by placing itsfate in the Forbidden City, the former imperial palace in China, and daresto hold a one-man show in the Forbidden City with his series of paintings ofthe very same site. Later, his Forbidden City series was brought to RomesPalazzo Venezia, Italy, where his oeuvre was on display for two and a halfmonths. In this brief period Jiang Guo Fang travelled from the formerimperial palace to Palazzo Venezia, a figurative road of art from the East tothe West
  3. 3. In 2004, as the first artist ever, JiangGuo Fang had the honour ofexhibiting in the Forbidden City. Theonly exhibition so far, with works fromthe "FORBIDDEN CITY" series inEurope, took place in the PalazzoVenezia in Rome, in 2005. In 2009,the paintings from Jiang Guo Fangs"The Forbidden City" series wasexhibited at the Art Center for the firsttime in Berlin, and in 2011 in Athens
  4. 4. Text and pictures: InternetCopyright: All the images belong to their authorsArangement: Sanda FoioreanuSound: Vanessa Mae - He Zhanhao and Chen Gang - The Butterfly Lovers violin concerto www.slideshare.net/michaelasanda
Popular Tags:

Click here to load reader

Embed Size (px)